So my Emme was here!

Such a fun, albeit short, visit from the darling Auntie Emily! She and her friend just drove cross country from Los Angeles on their way to Boston for Emily to start her new job with the Romney campaign. Ahhh the stories she’ll have, but they’re in good company as she’s got some doozies from her time in NYC & LA too. I just set up a blog for her, give her a few days to get settled and internet access, then you can all read her adventures over at The Chronicles of Emily.

So in honor of Emme’s visit and the official retirement of Thursday’s 13, I’ll give you a Thursday’s 13 of 13 things I’ve learned from Emily. . .


1. Lucky Charms are a great cereal, but never ever consider eating them for three meals a day. It is just not healthy, and it will do horrid things to your body.

2. Scrapbooking isn’t just for Utah Mormons. It can be cutesy with die-cuts and stickers or it could be sophisticated and classy with ribbon, sewing and stones.

3. It is incredibly important to recognize the voice of your biggest boss, whether it is on the phone or TV, without question.

4. Road trips are best taken with a large group of people complete with snacks and the Emme-prepared folder of car games, directions and maps (complete with Plan A, Plan B and Plan C– just in case).

5. Non-negotiables are not always so. All rules disappear in love, war, and NYC housing.

6. She knows good media. I should always listen to her recommendations because we like the same things, except that crazy Roswell crap. 😉 I thought she was insane when she went trekking down to FedEx on 34th St for the Harry Potter book that was a day late– my book 7 is already pre-ordered and my husband knows I’ll be reading it first. I made fun of her obsession with Alias, and now I’m soooo addicted! I’m in the middle of season 5 of Alias and I can’t wait to see what happens next. And I even enjoyed Pirates of the Caribbean (yes 1 & 2) even though I hated the music the first time. I can’t wait to see #3 this Memorial Day weekend.

7. Olive Garden does not count as authentic Italian. Good food is best found in small, off-the-beaten path eateries, or at the Festival of San Gennaro. I knew this one already, but she was by far one of my late-night food compadres.

8. It doesn’t matter where you live, or how nice the place is– your attitude determines your altitude.

9. If you build it, they will come, especially when it’s Game Night at our house or a Cheese & Chocolate party.

10. Don’t believe everything you see in the media. People aren’t always what they seem– sometimes they’re worse, and sometimes they’re better. It all depends on the camera angle and what your role in the situation is.

11. Some of the best places in the NYC are just one simple name: Vynl, Mecca (since closed 😦 ), The Eatery, Patsy’s, Penang and Time Cafe.

12. Apartment hunting is best done by looking at Village Voice classifieds at 3am, in your PJs, at a local diner in Hell’s Kitchen. Ok– so maybe we’ve grown up a little since then, but oh was it fun.

13. Couches and a cute little pooch will never replace a person, even if they are as cute as this:
couches

perla

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Friends, Thursday's 13. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

