Zucchini Potato Pancakes

So we had two huge zucchini from Jessica’s garden– and little time to eat it.  But every recipe on this big zucchini website had cheeses we didn’t stock or some crazy flour addition.

To add to it, I was wanting crepes.  Yummy ones filled with chicken and vegetables.  Similar to the Russian blini.  Ahhh.  To be here with a good blin:

st basils 2But I digress. . .

Great recipe tonight from my crepes and blin book: (it’s gluten free and fairly healthy)

  • 1 C pumpkin flesh (I substituted 2 med. potato–who can find pumpkin flesh in July?)
  • 2 zucchini
  • scant 1/2 C flour
  • 1 t baking soda (I used 1/2 cup Gluten Free pancake mix, and omitted this)
  • 1 chopped chive (I substituted dried minced onion–it worked just fine)
  • 1t nutmeg (couldn’t find it, and think it would be better with pumpkin– I used parsley)
  • 3 eggs
  • 2t salt

Grate the zucchini and pumpkin/potato finely.  Squeeze all of the juice out of it.  Rinse the potato and squeeze the water out again.  When it is fairly dry and flaky, put it in the mixing bowl.

Add in all of the other ingredients.  Mix well.  Put in the fridge for 20 minutes or the freezer for 10.

Get a pan or two nice and hot.  Put some oil on the pan, and then put the pancakes down.  Turn when they are light brown (about 3 minutes).  Let it cook for approximately 5 more minutes.

Serve with poached eggs, or in our case: scrambled eggs with pepper and cheese.  Yummy!

IMG_0426

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Diet, recipes, What's for dinner?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

