We’ve Moved!

We left our beloved beach home for a new life in the city we love. We’re back in our old apartment building in a much larger apartment than our last apartment in this building.  Yet it’s considerably smaller than our beach home.  It’s the trade-offs of life.  Lose a little space but pick up a great ward, dear friends, and access to our favorite places, including good schools for Little One.

Packing and unpacking has really made me think about “stuff.” We have so much of it, and our society teaches us that it’s necessary to buy what we want, when we want it. And for some reason there is a belief that the more you own and accumulate, the better off you are.

Yet is that really case? Or is it that these things just take up space that could be used for other things? I have boxes and boxes of books. Yet am I reading the most important books daily? We have libraries all around us with millions of holdings. Why then am I so quick to get on Amazon and order it? Oh right– it’s more convenient. Free shipping and it’s at my door in a day without me ever taking a detour through the neighborhood.

Yet if I took that detour which friends would I run into? How much more exercise would I get? I could go on– but I won’t. My thought is that I am going to take advantage of this new life in a new home to continue working on myself, to enrich my life in ways that I haven’t seen in a while. And oh how excited am I!

What are you working on right now? Where do you think you can improve?

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Moving, New York City. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

