Pick me up at the Park

So I am coming home from work on Friday, knowing I’ll pick Dan and Ava up and then go to the teacher store in Brooklyn for bulletin board paper and borders, and then IKEA for fabric and art. I pull up at the park and he hands over Ava.  She’s a little wet drenched.  What happened?, I ask.

He shows me these pictures:

Apparently, Ava took her Lightning McQueen car and rolled him into the fountain.  Then she’d go in shrieking to retrieve her favorite car.  Oh my!

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pick me up at the Park

  1. D'Arcy says:

    oh to be a child again and play in fountains!!! i saw one down in Cedar City at the Shakespeare festival this past week, and I seriously was trying to work out how I could climb into it and get wet without everyone, my students included, thinking I was crazy.

    I even made this plan of driving back to it at night and just soaking in it….but i thought a visit from the cops as I am chaperoning high school kids wasn’t the best idea!

    Way to go Ava!!

  2. Jaime Anne says:

    D’Arcy, Isn’t it great? The best is that mothers, adults and others join the kids in the sprinklers in the park, so I always have an excuse 🙂 Since NYC has realized that people want to play in water in the hot summer, and will crack open fire hydrants to do it, they’ve been putting more and more sprinklers in the parks. So fun!

    Next time you’re in NYC in the summer, we’ll have to go sprinkler jumping!

Leave a Reply

