I take a break from our regular programming. . .

Senator Obama in a Chicago church, from NYT

Normally, Dan & I try not to intermix politics with the family blog, especially because this is such a contentious issue in our extended family. Some are staunch Reps, while others are as liberal as they come. I can’t resist this one though, as he is very much becoming my presidential choice, especially if McCain is the Rep nominee.

Today while Senator Obama spoke at a packed congregation in Chicago, he said:

“We need fathers to realize that responsibility does not end at conception. . . . Too many fathers are M.I.A, too many fathers are AWOL, missing from too many lives and too many homes,” Mr. Obama said, to a chorus of approving murmurs from the audience. “They have abandoned their responsibilities, acting like boys instead of men. And the foundations of our families are weaker because of it.”

“I know the toll it took on me, not having a father in the house,” he continued. “The hole in your heart when you don’t have a male figure in the home who can guide you and lead you. So I resolved many years ago that it was my obligation to break the cycle — that that if I could be anything in life, I would be a good father to my children. . . .”

“I say this knowing that I have been an imperfect father,” he said, “Knowing that I have made mistakes and I’ll continue to make more, wishing that I could be home for my girls and my wife more than I am right now.”

While these quotes were fabulous, my all time favorite quote is:

“Don’t get carried away with that eighth-grade graduation,” he said, bringing many members of the congregation to their feet, applauding. “You’re supposed to graduate from eighth grade.”

Hallelujah and amen, Senator!

Quotes were taken from the article Obama Sharply Assails Absent Black Fathers by Julie Bosman in today’s NYT.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Politics, Presidential Election. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I take a break from our regular programming. . .

  1. Daniel says:

    He will do well as president.

Leave a Reply

