WFMW: Teaching Babies about Christ

wfmwsmall

As Mom to a 20-month old little girl, I am constantly trying to figure out how to teach her simple things relating to the Gospel of Christ. Easy things like folding your hands to pray, knowing who Jesus is, and how to sit still relatively quietly during church.

My mom sent Ava a framed 5″x7″ of Christ with a little child. I decided to hang it just above Ava’s changing table. Such a brilliant idea! Now every time I change her, we talk about Jesus and she points to His picture. It’s the beginning to her understanding.

For more great ideas on all sorts of topics, see Shannon at Rocks In My Dryer.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Church, Works For Me Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WFMW: Teaching Babies about Christ

  1. ohamanda says:

    Great idea! A church I worked at also had lots of fun songs about Jesus to sing while looking at a picture of Jesus…you know to the tune of nursery rhymes…(I’m trying to think of one…oh! “Jesus loves Catie yes he does, yes, he does. Jesus loves Catie.” to the tune of London Bridge.)

  2. Jeni says:

    I’ve sung songs to our 15 month old since she was born, one of them being “God Made Wendy,” to the tune of Frere Jacque:

    God made Wendy, God made Wendy,
    Yes, He did, yes, He did,
    She is somethin’ special
    She is somethin’ special,
    Yes, she is, yes she is.

    Silly, but it works for us, and it’s one of her favorites. 🙂

  3. Laurie says:

    The part about sitting quietly in church… oh my… I had no idea how hard it was until Micah became a toddler. Every Sunday you can find us out in the foyer running laps….

  4. mama2tlc says:

    LOVE WFMW!

    I also have a toddler and a pre-toddler. We don’t have cable television, so we often listen to the Christian radio station during the day… or I will open an old hymnal and sing ‘Jesus songs’ as my toddler refers to them. They love to hear me sing- even if it doesn’t sound so great. Recently, my daughter has melted many adults with her own singing of some of the often sung, and now learned hymns!

  5. Janis says:

    As the nursery director at my church, I use pictures quite a bit in teaching the infants. I also believe that it is important to teach them as young as possible. What a great gift you are giving your baby! Blessings to you!

  6. siddhartha says:

    can any body help me , about wht to teach to the kindergraten babies in the church ., and usually they don’t know english but i’ve had to teach them in english so.. can anybody help me wht should i teach them .? thnx for the help.
    cdartha

Leave a Reply

