Merry Christmas! and no longer polluting the tri-state area

*Pull up at the mechanic’s in the middle of NJ after a harrowing 10 minute drive there. Black smoke is billowing out of our tailpipe. It smells and the car is sounding kinda funny. I’m convinced it will catch fire any minute. This is the same car we wrote about here, here , here, here, and here (yes, yes. . . i know!)*

Dan: “So can you take a look at this?”

Mechanic: “Uh. I can tell you right now. You need a new car.”

Dan: “We know that. Can we milk this one to get to PA for the weekend?”

Mechanic: “If you make it another 20 miles, I’d be surprised. Your engine is blowing out oil, and kicking out the spark plugs. It’s only a short matter of time before you need a whole new engine. Merry Christmas.” *he begins to walk away*

Me: *completely dumbfounded, but knew this was coming*

Dan: “So, is there uh. . . a car rental place or a dealership nearby?”

Long story short– I got my wish! I walked out of the dealership with a 2008 black SUV. I never would’ve thought we’d buy it–at least not before the summer–but we can and we needed it. While it sucked breaking down on a busy highway on Christmas weekend, it lead to greater blessings. And for that I am grateful.

Christmas isn’t just about the presents, decorations and pictures with crazy mall santas. It’s not just eating the chocolate out of the advent calendar or visiting family. It’s the birth of Christ that brings us to this holiday. While the Northern hemisphere is cooling down, and animals are going into hibernation, this time of year is all about birth and life. May you feel the joy of the season, no matter what holiday you celebrate.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Car Problems, Christmas, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merry Christmas! and no longer polluting the tri-state area

Leave a Reply

