I Give In, I Must Go Gluten-Free

I’ve been itching like crazy these past several months, as I’ve not been taking any dapsone, the preferred medication for dermatitis herpatiformis. Now it seems, I really need to go natural and remove gluten from my diet.

As a researcher, I’ve been fascinated to observe just how the itching progresses unhampered. It really gets bad. You’ll tear at your skin far too much for safety and sanitation. It shifts around your body. Some day your buttock will itch more. Then another day it will be your knees. Then your sides. Then your back. Then back to your sides. Then back to your back. And your elbows will itch throughout the whole time. It looks and feels different in each area, hitting you even at your knuckles. It gets your neck, but interestingly, never bothers your face. I wonder why.

Well, I’ve got to put the researcher in me away. This has been frustrating. I met with a dermatologist this week and he was a breath of fresh air. He said it straight. I need to go gluten-free. I was his first “real” case of dermatitis herpatiformis (he prepared for it in college, but never met a patient with it until me). He didn’t mince words. And I realized then that I had to let go my desires for bread and pasta. It should be easier now that we’re back in New York City.

About Daniel

Life is grand. This is the story of a new family, a recently married couple and their honeymoon baby girl. Life throws at you some fastballs, and then some curveballs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Give In, I Must Go Gluten-Free

  1. abarclay12 says:

    Gluten free?? No bread? No pizza? Can you have beer?

  2. Daniel says:

    abarclay,

    I don’t drink beer anyways, but yeah, you’d have to avoid that too.

  3. Carissa says:

    Really, gluten-free isn’t all that bad. I’ve had Celiac Disease (which is a gluten intolerance) for going on 5 years now, and I really don’t ever think about having a donut when someone brings them in to work, or a slice of cake at parties. It’s amazing how quickly you’ll adapt. Gluten-free pastries and bakery goods are common in any health food store, so there are lots of alternatives. Hang in there!

  4. Shard J says:

    Hey, I know of a gluten-free grocery store around Portland, Oregon. They’ve got an online store too:
    http://www.lingonberriesmarket.com/

    They’ve got gluten-free beer!

  5. Daniel says:

    Carissa,

    Thanks for the words of comfort. I’m eastern European, having been raised on bread. I’ll miss it a great deal, I think, for a while. I tried going gluten-free for a while last fall, and didn’t make it two months. 😦

    This time though, I’ll have to go for the rest of my life. I don’t want to be taking medicine the rest of my life, and the itching just doesn’t go away.

    Shard

    Thank you for linking to that store. I’ll definitely take a look at what they’ve got. Their prices seem pretty good.

  6. Katie says:

    That makes me sad. I’ll eat extra bread for you. 🙂 My mom’s best friend can’t eat gluten, she has to be REALLY careful and read the labels on everything. She was so excited because she could have Lawry’s seasoned salt. Apparently, the store brand stuff has modified food starch in it. I’ve seen quite a few gluten free meal plans on http://orgjunkie.com when people post for menu plan monday. You might want to check that out, too.

  7. Jaime's Mom says:

    I have no doubt that you’ll get into this change and that it’ll bring added blessings. I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

