A Day in Ava’s Life: Part II

(I began this post yesterday, but with all of the fun it didn’t get finished until today. . . )  

So after cleaning up, I made a list of all of the things that needed to be accomplished before I go back to school on Monday. I made a few phone calls, while Ava commandeered her Daddy’s computer.

IMG_4420

Then we set off on errands.

We walked down the Boardwalk, staring at the vicious waves. The storms this week have really affected the ocean currents. Then we stopped at our backup babysitters and dropped a few things off, and continued on to the doctor’s office and the post office. My kudos to the staff in the post office–I didn’t have a delivery slip (they didn’t leave one), nor did I have a NY ID. They took my word, along with a recent bill and a PA ID to figure out where my new suits were. They pulled them off the truck, helped me open all of the boxes to make sure it was all there, and then they disposed of the boxes for me. So kind.

We returned home at 1pm. We ate lunch (ravioli and strawberries), which of course was one huge mess. (Pic to come later)

Ava got into the Starzies, and ate them voraciously decorated the floor with them.

IMG_4411

Ava napped a bit before we left for Manhattan. I’m trying to get everything together, and get out the door in time for the bus, and this is what Ava’s doing:

IMG_4407

We barely caught the 4:05 bus towards the train. The train was already there when we got off, so we ran up the stairs. Apparently one of the bridges was up, so we ran in vain–except it was a good workout! Carrying a baby in a stroller, up 3 flights of stairs will work some new muscles.

Here’s Ava as we got to Manhattan to meet Dan. We signed some day care papers, then ate dinner at Chipotle’s, a delicious burrito place we stumbled upon. Sooooooo yummy.

Walking with full tummies through the streets of downtown is dangerous. Streets are extremely narrow, even for an umbrella stroller. Scaffolding is up almost everywhere (what are they really doing?!) Various odors waft throughout the air–some better than others. And then we come across a rather large NYC resident. I thought I’d seen it all, but this was much bigger than even the one I took to housing court in ’99. I’ll spare y’all with a smaller pic 🙂

IMG_4421

Dan couldn’t believe I stopped to take a picture, but Ava was staring at it, especially since she spends so much time in the stroller looking down at the ground. I still can’t figure that one out. . .

We stopped by Pace University, where I once taught a grad course, and Ava ran for the artwork. This building is literally at the base of the Brooklyn Bridge so the art on the Apple is so appropos.

IMG_4422

Traffic on the Brooklyn Bridge was way too loud.

IMG_4425

A few views of the bridge from the stroller:

IMG_4429

IMG_4433

A short 360 view from the Brooklyn Bridge:

After a long day, we collapse on the subway for the ride home. Ava, our good little drinker, decides she’s still thirsty. So she guzzles some more of Dan’s Blackberry Izze. Too bad most of it went all over her shirt.

IMG00072

We finally got home around 8:15pm, promptly changed Ava and got her ready for bed. But as you can see, she was anything but tired. . .

-Device Memory-home-user-pictures-IMG00076

IMG_4440

Sleep came about 10pm, and oh was Mommy tired then too!

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Day in Ava’s Life: Part II

  1. Katie says:

    that is SO cute! bronson and i might just have to take a day (and 2 hrs on the train) to come up to NY. 🙂 i think i could figure it out. i’m not used to this whole “public transportation” thing.

  2. jaimeanne says:

    Oh how fun! We’d love to meet you in the city! I’m sure Ava would have a blast with Bronson!

    It’s not hard at all to do public transport from DC or Baltimore. Email me and we can chat about it. . . I’ve done it all–Chinatown buses, trains, buses and planes. . .

  3. Jaime's Mom says:

    Ava has grown a foot since I last saw you! I’m glad to see that you’re all doing so well and I can’t wait until I can tag along.

  4. Paige says:

    Reading about your day made me tired, too, but it looked like you had so much fun!

Leave a Reply

