The D-Family takes on D.C.

IMG_4137

All expenses paid vacation– nice hotel in Georgetown, good food, and fun combined with some work at the ALA conference at the DC conference center.

IMG00039
Ava in Rose Park in her favorite car

IMG00037
And again taking her favorite car

Dan worked most of the time, while Ava and I explored the city. By far the best park I’ve ever seen for toddlers was Georgetown’s Rose Park. Ava loved playing in the sandbox and on the numerous play sets. The Little Tykes cars were icing on the cake. On the way back from the park, I’m pushing Ava in the stroller back to the hotel and I trip on an uneven cobblestone. Eh, so what, right? Yeah– that little stone lip broke my flip flops.

IMG00040
(Laurie don’t look at those toes!! I need a good pedi–wanna come out and do one for me? 🙂

So do I walk through the streets of Georgetown barefoot, or do I try to maneuver the flip flop to stay on my foot as I drag it along? I tried the gimp walk for about a block and in those painfully long 20 minutes, I couldn’t do it any longer. So barefoot we went. I just have to say that I’m so glad this happened in DC and not NYC. Could you imagine me tiptoe-ing between the broken glass, dog feces, and other gems found on the NYC streets? At least Georgetown had perfectly clean sidewalks and streets. . .

IMG_4181

Dan, Ava & I walked around on the Mall, and up the steps of the Capitol building. For some reason, Ava loved that building. We’d be walking away from it, and that little child is running back towards it. Maybe she was trying to petition our lawmakers? The question is why–an end to the war in Iraq? Impeach the President? Bring some morality back to this country? Maybe just more baby food in the local restaurants?

All in all, our trip to DC was quick, but mahvelous. It was definitely the calm before the storm. As we returned home, we faced the oh-crap-we’re-moving-in-three-days-and-more-than-half-the-house-is-not-packed dilemma.

Luckily we got through it, but I’ll save the drama of the move for another post.

Here are a few Ava classics from the trip:

IMG_4186
Ava tries to catch the duck at the Capitol. She’s got a fascination with birds.

IMG_4205
Exploring the Museum of the Native American

IMG_4212
Selling herself at the LDS Bookstore in Bethesda–or was she just exploring? Who knows. . .

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The D-Family takes on D.C.

  1. John Taber says:

    Amazing how you got Ava to position her arms the same way in two of those pictures (4186 and 4205).

  2. Sherpa says:

    She’s turning into quite a character. 😉

  3. Jaime's Mom says:

    Maybe one day, she’ll be one of our lawmakers!

Leave a Reply

