I’m such a bad mom!

So Ava was playing around the living room, and all of a sudden it happened.

img_4105.gif

She fell over her little sea-legs and hit the edge of the piano bench with her cheekbone on the way down. No less that this happens in front of dinner guests. Immediately she screams the delayed, top-of-the-lungs, I’m-really-hurt scream. Moms and dads know what I mean. The one where they take the deep breath and wait a few seconds before air or sound comes out. The one I dread.

Now it looks like I beat my child, and worse I feel badly for not protecting her from the horrid bench.

Yet, I can’t cover every corner, and I can’t hold her hand forever. She’s 13 months and so independent that I can barely catch hold of her during exploration. I hesitate to think what it will be like in a few years. The house is childproofed as best as possible. Cords are put away, plugs are covered and everything below three feet is fit for infant hands.

But isn’t that just a part of life? We all have to learn how to let them grow up and learn for themselves. We can’t prevent every injury, and we certainly won’t be able to prevent the broken hearts and hurt feelings of first loves and high school dating. Or the loss of a job, or the death of a loved one.

We all have to go through growing periods, and sometimes it hurts. But we learn and grow through it. I wish it didn’t hurt, but if it didn’t hurt, would I learn as much? I doubt it. So Heavenly Father, please give me the ability to deal with the pain as I help my little girl grow up and learn.

How did we deal with the pain today? Chocolate cake for Daddy’s Day 🙂 We also had to take a nice long bath to clean off the frosting. . .

img_4106.gif

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Life, Moms. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m such a bad mom!

  1. John Taber says:

    These things will happen. By the time she’s eight she’ll scrape up her chin from trying to do a headstand in the bathtub. (My sister actually did that one, among many others.) If you’re feeling her pain, you’re doing your job. (I think – bear in mind I don’t have kids of my own as of yet, just ten nieces and nephews . . . )

    Myself, I worry every time I accidentally bump one of the hamsters or the guinea pig with the cage door. Buttercup, Oreo and Midnight seem to be fine, though Oreo seems to have a sweet tooth for fingers.

  2. Sherpa says:

    I had a mission companion who was 21, had never been on a date, had never had a friend who wasn’t active in the church let alone a non-member, had never lived away from home, and had maybe one or two friends–and not close. I have never met anyone who had been so sheltered, and needless to say she was one of the hardest mission comps in the mission –much more so than my companion who had borderline paranoid schizophrenia and another one who decided to not take her depression meds while on the mish. Needless to say, I’m not a parent yet–but excessive sheltering your kids causes them more harm than good.

  3. Jaime says:

    Sherpa, I so agree with you. A few of my college roommates were raised in the ultimate bubble, and it took so much to break out of it and just talk to someone who didn’t look like a carbon-copy of them. And even that doesn’t sound nearly as tough as your comp had it.

    I definitely don’t want Ava to be the uber-sheltered child.

Leave a Reply

