On the Lot

So, I’ve been a blog slacker lately. . . On The Lot, still my fave new show with The New Adventures of Old Christine. Hysterical.

So last week’s 5 videos. Tonight someone gets cut. Here are my thoughts:

Title: Laughing Out Loud: A Comic Journey

Description: Contestant Shalini Kantayya’s film is an influential documentary of an unorthodox stand-up comedian, as he establishes himself among the elite.

Eh. Not my favorite. As far as documentaries go, it’s alright, but nothing to write home about. I think my 8th graders did a comparable job with their Carnegie Hall documentaries. Maybe next year they’ll apply to On the Lot. I’m really surprised that On the Lot watchers rated this one with 3 stars (out of 5). I would have thought this would be lower. What am I missing?

Title: The First Time I Met The Finkelsteins

Description: Contestant Hilary Graham’s film is a hysterical comedy surrounding a couple’s visit to the dreaded parents house for the first time. The inappropriate parents make the meeting anything but comfortable for their son’s new girlfriend.

It’s so been-there-done-that. Even Meet the Fockers was better. A few memorable lines– the Irish girl one definitely takes the cake. Along with curing cancer, diabetes and AIDS, and her eggs are drying up. . . Oh my. This girl is pushing every sort of PC limit. I’m not so sure what I think about it. Funny yes. But more the laugh inside to yourself kinda funny.

Title: Teri (Blind Date)

Description: Contestant Trevor James film is a feel good comedy about a charming, down to earth guy awaiting his blind date. He allows his imagination to run wild and expects the worst on what ‘Teri’ might be like, moments before her arrival.

hmmm. Litany of crazed daters. I think it was one of the judges that said he didn’t develop characters but rather caricatures. Not my favorite. Not bad enough to send him home though.

Title: Broken Pipe Dreams

Description: Contestant Sam Friedlander’s film is a high stakes comedy about going where no man’s gone before…retrieving what was accidentally flushed down the toilet.

It’s an upscale version of potty humor. What is it with these contestants being obsessed with pottying and other things relative to that??

Title: Dough: The Musical

Description: Contestant Adam Stein’s film is a freshly baked musical comedy that delivers the goods, taking place at the local bakery.

Fantabulous. Smart. Cute. To music. Need I say more. I love the plot, the characters are likable, and everyone can relate to this piece. I want to see more from him!

My picks:
Best film: By far it was Dough: The Musical
Worst film: Laughing Out Loud: A Comic Journey— I normally like all things about India and Indians, but this just did not keep my attention or give me a reason to watch.

The shorts are still on their website. Feel free to go and tell me what you think. I’d love to hear a few other opinions.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in On the Lot. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Lot

  1. Jean Powell says:

    Well, I’m not sure in the event that’s likely to work with me, but definitely worked for you! Excellent post! This is really my very first time here, really nice looking blog. I found so many interesting things in your blog especially its discussion. From all the remarks on your articles, it appears such as this is often a very popular website. Continue the great work.

Leave a Reply

