Memorial Day Extravaganza

This weekend started out with some boredom relaxation. Then my computer broke, so we had to drive the 35 miles to the nearest Best Buy to get it looked at. On the way, we figured we’d stop by the State Park, picnic by the lake and maybe take a walk. So I put on my flip flops, capris, and I’m ready to roll.

We get to the State Park and Dan sees a sign for a waterfall trail. Ok, sounds good. Get out the stroller and start walking with Ava. Then we come to the sign. “This trail is extremely dangerous and should only be hiked by people who are in good physical condition. All hikers should be wearing proper hiking boots,” yada yada yada. Somewhere in there it said something about it being steep and narrow at points. So wait– proper hiking shoes, check nope. Good physical condition, check. Steep and narrow– uh, how are we going to do this with a Graco stroller???

We did– we made it the 3 miles to the first fall– there were a few points that I had to pick up the front of the stroller so Dan could make it over the tree roots and shaky rocks. And we get to this gorgeous waterfall. We’re posing as a family in front, with these cute little Indian tourists ready to take the picture– and the batteries are dead!! Argh. So all we have is this picture of the falls to prove we made it. And the blister on my foot from the flip flops. That’ll be there for a while.

IMG_3995

Then this morning, the men of the church made us breakfast. Yummy pancakes, sausage and eggs, which was simply fuel for the planting that would happen afterwards. One family has a 100 acre farm that they have allocated 20 acres or so to gardening for the church members to build their food storage. They planted an entire field of peas, another of green beans, and yet another of corn. Today we had to transplant the tomato plants into the ground. It was a blast– I really look forward to having our own garden at home. Although I don’t think that I’ll ever plant 250 tomato plants at once again. That was just a HUGE undertaking.

IMG_4034

IMG_4011

There’s just something about returning to nature and feeling the dirt of the earth in your hands and feet that brings me back to center. As I think about this, it’s got a certain simplicity to it– a relic of days gone by, when there were no computers, TV or cell phones. Don’t get me wrong– I’m not about to give up my laptop, but I do enjoy a vacation from it. I enjoy getting back to where I came from, and beginning to understand just a little bit more of the way my Father designed this world. He did such a beautiful job, it’s up to me to bask in that. Ava was certainly doing that today.

IMG_4036

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Church, homekeeping, Life, PA. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memorial Day Extravaganza

  1. Sherpa says:

    Wow, her hair is red in that picture.

Leave a Reply

