iGoogle, Blog feeds, and Bushisms

So I’m all about things that make life easier for me– and this is my newest one. I discovered iGoogle this week and OH MY WORD am I never going back to life without it! My obsession with waiting for a certain email from a certain city on the East Coast has led me to a whole new level of checking email, like, every other minute. Enter iGoogle.

igoogle

It has these cute little widgets that update themselves to let you know when you have a new email, a new post on your blogroll or some breaking news. It’s so much nicer to use during work because it doesn’t so much look like I’m obsessively checking email. Not to mention, the Google search bar is right there front and center, which I can tell you is the thing I use the most at the daycare. Who knew I’d ever have to find information on “children who bite” or “lesson plans for preschool on camping” but never fear– Google can find something fabulous for me. And did I say it was cute? The themes just make me happy.

igoogle news

And my all-time favorite unecessary widget: Bush Quote Generator. HOLY COW! How in the world did this buffaoon become our President? Here are a few of my favorite quotes:

“I glance at the headlines, just to get kind of a flavor,” he told Brit Hume of Fox News last month (2003). But, “I rarely read the stories” because “a lot of times there’s opinions mixed in with news.” Link to story

“I think he needs to stand up and say if he thought the president were wrong on policy and issues, he ought to say where.”

– George W. Bush August 11, 2000 Referring to Al Gore and Bill Clinton. From an interview with the Associated Press.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Blogging, iGoogle, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to iGoogle, Blog feeds, and Bushisms

  1. Sherpa says:

    Igoogle is my homepage at work. I heart it with all my little caring heart.

  2. Laurie says:

    Ditto. Love love love it.

  3. You might also be interested in a brand new start page available called Funky Homepage. It’s comprised mainly of Google gadgets (as well as Gadgets from other sources), live news feeds (with your choice of news provider), daily Bushisms, daily jokes, horoscopes, videos, weather (up to 5 locations), interactive calendar, Google calendar viewer (for up to 5 Google calendars), comic strips and lots more besides. It also lets you choose your own search engine, colour scheme, etc.

    Unlike many of the other personalised start pages available, there’s no need to create an account and it’s all already set up for you, with the most popular gadgets organised by category and sub-category. So there’s virtually no setting-up work required by the user, making it ideal for those (like me) who can’t be bothered to do all the work of setting up their own page. More advanced (and less lazy) users can choose to add their own Google gadgets and RSS feeds, but most people just use the gadgets and tools provided.

    It’s free to use and you can check it out at http://www.funkyhomepage.com

Leave a Reply

