Integrity at what cost?

I’m shocked. Yau-Man and Dreamz made a deal on Survivor. Dreamz needed a truck– the kid doesn’t even have a driver’s license!!, so Yau-Man gave Dreamz a Ford F-350 double-cab truck, with the stipulation that Dreamz would give Yau immunity, if he got it, when it was the Final Four. Dreamz won the immunity, and when it came to Tribal Council, Dreamz went back on his word and kept immunity. Yau got voted out, and it eventually cost him $1 million.

Dreamz said he never intended to honor his word, and he was just playing the game. You know– that’s what Survivor is all about. Outwit, outplay and outlast–so whatever happens in Fiji stays in Fiji and it’s not real life, anyways, so whatever morals apply.

What in the heck??!!??

So wait, I can be whoever I want on-line, and it’s OK because it’s not “real life.” I can make deals, give my word, and renege as much as I want, because it’s a “game?” Or maybe at work, I can make a deal but go back on my word, because, oops– I didn’t really mean it? Or maybe my priorities changed in those four days, so you are no longer important, my word is no longer worth anything, and I’ll just do whatever I think suits me best.

What a lonely world. The irony is that Dreamz sold his integrity for a chance at a million, and luckily the jury didn’t see fit to award him with it. He sold an entire alliance under the rug, then he backstabbed Yao. At least there’s a little bit of justice in there.

The part that makes me laugh the most was that Dreamz kept talking about being a role model for children everywhere. Apparently he wanted to do something with the money that would benefit others. Yet I would never place my child in his presence– his morals are questionable. Why would I want her to learn from him?

Isn’t the quote, “If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything?”

I’m by no means a country music aficionado, but this Aaron Tippin song encompasses many of the values that I hold dear.

Now daddy didn’t like trouble, but if it came along,
Everyone that knew him
knew which side that he would be on.
He never was a hero,
or this county’s shining light,
But you could always find him standing up
for what he thought was right.

He’d say you’ve got to stand for something
or you’ll fall for anything.
You’ve got to be your own man,
not a puppet on a string.
Never compromise what’s right,
and uphold your family name.
You’ve got to stand for something
or you’ll fall for anything.

We might have been better off
or owned a bigger house,
if daddy had done more given in
or a little more backing down.
But we always had plenty just living his advice.
What ever you do today
you’ll have to sleep with tonight.

He’d say you’ve got to stand for something
or you’ll fall for anything.
You’ve got to be your own man not a
puppet on a string.
Never compromise what’s right
and uphold your family name.
You’ve got to stand for something
or you’ll fall for anything.

I know that things are different
than they were in daddy’s day,
but I still believe what makes a man
really hasn’t changed.

He’d say you’ve got to stand for something
or you’ll fall for anything.
You’ve got to be your own man not a
puppet on a string.
Never compromise what’s right
and uphold your family name.
You’ve got to stand for something
or you’ll fall for anything.

Now daddy didn’t like trouble, but if it came along,
Everyone that knew him
knew which side that he would be on.
He never was a hero,
or this county’s shining light,
But you could always find him standing up
for what he thought was right.

I would hope that these are the values my daughter would see in me. I’d hope that she’d see this as what members of our family do– it’s just how we are. I’d hope that she’d step back and say, “In this situation, I’d bet this is what Jesus would do.” Even to this day Heavenly Father has not gone back on His promises to me, and I know He doesn’t intend to start now. So why would I be any different?

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Gospel Principles, Honesty, Survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

