A Meme: Where were you?

Updated below to add one year ago at Emme’s request

What were you doing…

20 years ago (May 1987)
Age? 10
Were you in school? Yes, I think it was in El Cajon, CA.
Where did you work? Uh, I had a steady job taking care of the housework, laundry, shopping and cooking. I almost burned the kitchen down this year trying to make stir fry. Who knew oil ignited so nicely? 😉
Where did you live? El Cajon, CA
What were your regular haunts? Lexington Elementary, 7-11 on every corner, riding scooters and bikes through the neighborhood
Did you wear glasses? Nope.
Who was your best friend? Sonia Turrubiate
How many tattoos did you have? None.
How many piercings did you have? Just my ears.
What did you drive? My super hot Mongoose scooter. I think it was purple
What was your biggest goal? To get to Disneyland and the beach as much as possible. I was regularly taking practice LSATs, so I think this was my lawyer phase.

Ten years ago (May 1997)
Age? 20
Were you in school? Yes, Brigham Young University in Provo.
Where did you work? Just finished nannying/interning in DC, and was just about to get the job at the 1st floor reference desk in the HBLL.
Where did you live? Russian House
What were your regular haunts? Anywhere with Angie, Misha and Zenya
Did you wear glasses? No.
Who was your best friend? Angie Thomas, Ripsy Bandourian
How many tattoos did you have? 0
How many piercings did you have? 3: 2 earrings and 1 in the belly button
What did you drive? Nothing. Dad burned my car up in 1995 and I didn’t replace it while at school.
What was your biggest goal? To graduate and get a job working abroad in international development

Five Years Ago (May 2002)
Age? 25
Were you in school? Yes, grad school at CUNY
Where did you work? First year of teaching middle school social studies in the South Bronx, a brand new NYC Teaching Fellow, and starting grad school.
Where did you live?
Upper East Side of Manhattan in my dream brownstone on 83rd & 3rd. Ahhh how I miss the restaurants in that neighborhood! And the park. . .
What were your regular haunts? Central Park, South Bronx, Lincoln Center for church, Jasmine’s and Penang’s on the regular
Did you wear glasses? No.
Who were your best friends? Wendy S., Dani M., Emily A., Rachelle C. and Jared R. (and God love them for sticking through it all with me! This was a tough tough year!)
How many tattoos did you have? 0
How many piercings did you have? 2 earrings
What did you drive? NYC subways and buses

One Year Ago (May 2006)
Were you in school? Nope. . .
Where did you work? Just started maternity leave, so being a full-time mom
Where did you live? Middle of Bloomsburg, PA, right near the Susquehanna River. We watched the river rise in June and nearly flood us.
What were your regular haunts? Uh. . . My sister’s house, the church, and the hospital/doctor’s office
What was your favorite song? Slide, by the Goo Goo Dolls. This hasn’t changed much in almost 8 years.
Who were your best friends? My husband, my sister, Emme (but she was way across the country), Anne Romney, Corina Thompson, Victoria Brumfeld, Celeste Brown, Wendy Slater (all in NYC)
What was your prized possession? My new daughter, Ava Simone, if she can be called a possession. She rounded out my family nicely.
What did you drive? Just bought Clarissa, my crappy Saturn that we love
What were you looking forward to? Figuring out how to be a stay-at-home mom, or even just a Mom in general.

As of today (May 2007)
Age? 30
Are you in school? Nope.
Where do you work? a local daycare with Ava while I enjoy my year of childcare leave from the NYC Dept of Ed. I’ll be back there this next school year.
Where do you live? Middle of nowhere in central PA on a 100 acre farm with cows and lots and lots of hay
What are your regular haunts? Home, frequent jaunts into the City, I also have frequent flyer miles these days at the local hospital
Do you wear glasses? No.
Who is your best friend? My husband, Dan, Emily A. (still!), my sister, Jessica
Do you talk to your old friends? As much as possible via email with visits whenever one of us is in the same town
How many tattoos do you have? 0
How many piercings do you have? 2 earrings, but I never wear them
What do you drive? Clarissa, my fairly unreliable Saturn sedan. We’re hoping to either lose her in a move back to the City, or upgrade to a nice Matrix:)

Leave a comment if you do this Meme. I’d love to read your responses!

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Journal Keeping, Life, Meme. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Meme: Where were you?

  1. John Taber says:

    Just realizing when five, ten, and twenty years ago was is painful enough. (Something about living in the same house at all three points in life.) I know my primary long-term goal twenty years ago was to live anywhere but there. Despite some back and forth, here I am just eleven miles away. (Story of my life, I guess.)

  2. Emily says:

    ok ok I need to do this… but it will take some thinking… I still have other questions from you that I need to answer… I will post my responses on Monday morning 🙂

  3. Emily says:

    Additional note, I think there needs to be an additional few questions:

    One Year Ago (May 2006)
    Were you in school?
    Where did you work?
    Where did you live?
    What were your regular haunts?
    What was your favorite song?
    Who were your best friends?
    What was your prized possession ?
    What did you drive?
    What were you looking forward to?

  4. Jaime Anne says:

    Ok– Fair game. I’ll update it to add that in. . .

  5. Wendy says:

    Jaime Anne!

    So fun to run across your meme! I was totally reminiscing about the good ol’ NYC days when I read it. I even miss our old place on 10th Ave! I’m going to come up to NY soon. Will call you! Send my love to Ava & Dan!
    Love ya,
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

