Election 2008

Ok, so I’m trying to keep politics off of this blog, but I’m terrified to jump into the deep end by posting on my husband’s politics blog.

All I’m going to say is: research, decide and then volunteer where possible to get the word out. If you need places to research, here are the websites for the major candidates: Barack Obama, Hillary Clinton (apparently she’s dropped the Rodham??), John Edwards, Mitt Romney, Rudy Giuliani, and John McCain.

I also thought that this site was interesting– I’d like to see this developed much further to include candidates’ opinions on numerous other issues, besides Iraq, through video clips.

Today I checked out all of their sites and I have my picks and I’ve registered as a volunteer for the campaign. I worked on a campaign in 1996 and oh what a learning experience it was! I’d love to do a little bit of it again, but life has changed a bit. . . . We’ll see what happens.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Barack Obama, Election 08, Hillary Rodham Clinton, John Edwards, John McCain, Mitt Romney, Politics, Presidential Election, Rudy Guiliani. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Election 2008

  1. Sherpa says:

    I adore campaign work. I haven’t decided who I’m going to support though. There’s a grassroot issue here in Virginia that has my heart (well, mostly my lungs) that I’m going to do some work for in the immediate future.

  2. jaimeanne says:

    Grassroots issues are the best. You can make a huge difference and see the results of hard work. National campaigns are a lot harder to get the results because it could be years in the making.

  3. Daniel says:

    I’ve never participated in a campaign, but I think I will this time. We need all the votes we can get to go against the Republican nominee in 2008. Things HAVE to change or we are in real trouble.

  4. Mike says:

    Seems like the same things y’all were saying back in ’92… That didn’t help much either. 😉

  5. dave says:

    Jaime,

    Sorry this isn’t on this thread (you can delete it after you read it), but Cause Celeb was very fun. It has a fair amount of strong language and some sex (not detailed and played for humor, for better or worse), but I thought it was funny as well as giving some insight into relationships at refugee camps (I first read about it because an anthropologist commented on how well it portrays the relationships in refugee camps). I’d give it a 7/10, probably. (which for me is pretty good, but not AWESOME). peace, dave

Leave a Reply

