Faith as a mustard seed

I was never your stereotypical Mormon. I’ve never been one for poofy hair, frilly dresses, floral print, Jell-O (with or without fruits and vegetables in it–ick!) or crazy dating ideas. Yet I’ve always had a strong testimony of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

The past two months have been incredibly difficult–We knew that the time was right to get me a full-time job again. I was applying everywhere for anything remotely related to my former career as a teacher: principalship in NYC or DC, curriculum writer in Baltimore, teacher at a charter school in Philly, positions at the local universities, etc. Some of these jobs are 3+ hours from my home, which would force us to move and commute long distances. It wouldn’t be an ideal situation, especially being the RS President, but I knew I had to be open to it. After the craziness of this week, I couldn’t handle it all anymore, so I turned it over to the Lord.

Guess what falls into my lap: My dream job! I’ll be telecommuting as a Social Studies Curriculum writer. Seriously. It’s currently part-time, but the money is so good that 20 hours of part-time is almost what I’d get in any job around here for full-time. The great part is that if I were to go back to school for my PhD or EdD tomorrow, I’d be going for curriculum and instruction. What great experience for the future, and good money for now 🙂 I am very grateful for the blessings my Father has once again bestowed me with.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Education, Uncategorized, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faith as a mustard seed

  1. chellie says:

    I’m so happy for you. It sounds perfect!

  2. dave says:

    Jaime,

    Many congratulations. What a blessing to be rewarded for your openness and your efforts!

    Dave

Leave a Reply

