My First Fishtail

I’ve been driving for a while now, 17 years I think, and I’ve been in accidents before, both my fault and not my fault. I’ve driven in high winds, powerful thunderstorms, white out snow storms (the only things I’ve not driven in yet are ice and hurricanes and tornadoes), but not until this morning did I lose control of my vehicle while driving. I fishtailed. It wasn’t bad. The car was not damaged. But it happened. It was more the fault of the tires not being the best. I wasn’t going fast either, a mere 35 mph on a winding mountain road that still had some snow on it from last night’s coating. It was even in a straight-way section, not around some turn. The back just decided to start moving to the right while the front kept going straight. Suddenly the car starts shifting left. I compensate and pump the breaks, slowing the car down. But it was too late to compensate for the turn, and I hit a small snow embankment going 5 mph. No damage to anyone or anything. But there was my first fishtail. 🙂

About Daniel

Life is grand. This is the story of a new family, a recently married couple and their honeymoon baby girl. Life throws at you some fastballs, and then some curveballs.
This entry was posted in Car Problems, Life, snow, Snowstorms, Travel, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My First Fishtail

  1. Sherpa says:

    fishtails just happen sometimes. Not a big deal. What’s a big deal is that you don’t panic when it happens.

  2. Jaime Anne says:

    Why do I find out about these things on the blog??? Oh my nervousness. . . I’m glad you are ok, and I’m glad my car is ok too. The roads were fairly treacherous this morning. Plows and salt would help but I’m not sure our county believes in them.

  3. Daniel says:

    Jaime,

    Sorry, I would have told you but I had a busy day at work, and never got around to calling you. Plus I figured since it wasn’t bad at all (no scratches on the car), that you wouldn’t worry. Sorry. 😦

  4. Jaime's Mom says:

    I’m glad you made it though and I agree with Sherpa. Attitude is everything, even with those spiritual fishtails we sometimes encounter.

  5. chel says:

    As long as everyone is ok!!! I don’t miss driving in the snow at all. It’s so unpredictable!

  6. Daniel says:

    oh yeah, everybody is fine. It was just me driving, and it was on a back road, no one else around, and the car rested harmlessly in a snow pile. No scratches on the car.

Leave a Reply

