A Homemaking Meme

I saw this on Lindsey‘s blog and thought it was fun. Sallie has a Mr. Linky up at her blog if you want to participate too.

Aprons – Y/N?
I have a gorgeous one courtesy of my dearest Emme, who got it while she worked at Martha Stewart. I even wore it on my wedding day when we ate lunch at Penang before pictures in the park. 🙂

Baking – Favorite thing to bake:
I’m a sucker for cakes and cookies. I make a mean snickerdoodle.

Clothesline – Y/N?
We have one outside. We’ll see if we use it this year. It’s literally in the corner of the yard near where the hay will be planted in the spring. I’m not so sure how allergic I still am to hay, so we’ll see if I can bear to hang the clothes out there. I love the smell of sun-dried clothes.

Donuts – Have you ever made them?
Yup, once or twice when I was a teenager. Now I try not to stop at Dunkin for the chocolate kreme. I love nothing more than a Krispy Kreme, but I try to refrain. I used to live next to one, and so it kinda ruined me.

Every day – One homemaking thing you do every day:
Disinfect the kitchen countertops.

Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze?
Nope, but we may get one soon if the price is right.

Garbage Disposal – Y/N?
Nope. I wish! I miss having this.

Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource?
-Betty Crocker Cookbooks & my Biggest Loser Cookbook

Ironing – Love it or hate it?
Iron? Yeah I have one of those, somewhere. . . I made sure all of Dan’s shirts are no iron, as long as you take them out of the dryer immediately they are perfect.

Junk drawer – Y/N? Where is it?
Nope. We have an office which is currently a junk room.

Kitchen: Design & Decorating?
Not so much. We’re renting this house, so we’re not putting too much into it. All of our appliances are red and the curtains are white with red berries.

Love – What is your favorite part of homemaking?
Cooking and having my husband *love* whatever it was I made. I also love it when everything is clean and orderly. It makes my mind so much clearer.

Mop – Y/N?
Nope. I’m all about getting down on my hands and knees to clean the floor.

Nylons – Wash by hand or in the washing machine?
I rarely wear them, but when I do, they go in the lingerie bag in the washer on gentle.

Oven – Do you use the window or open the oven to check?
Always open. My Betty Crocker oven from 1945 didn’t have a light, so I got used to always opening it.
Pizza – What do you put on yours?
Hmmm…we LOVE basil & goat cheese with veggies for a healthier take. But I love ham & cheese for being “bad!”

Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
what else? BLOG???!!!!!

Recipe card box – Y/N?
Nope. I have a cookbook in a 3 ring binder where I type out all my recipes and file away. Needs some updating and organizing, I’ve let it get a bit messy.

Style of house –
Ranch. We built it in 2000. It is small but it works. It is a home…it isn’t a mud hut with dirt floors, so I am blessed.

Tablecloths and napkins – Y/N?
Napkins always. Tablecloths sometimes for company and special occasions. Doing school work at the table makes removing it over and over a chore.

Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland?
Organized, but could be better.

Vacuum – How many times per week?
1-3 times a week. I should do it daily.

Wash – How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
HA!!! Daily should be the question. At least 2 loads A DAY. Our family of 5 creates a lot of laundry with hubby’s work clothes, workout clothes, potty training fun…etc etc etc.

X’s – Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
Sometimes. I don’t do this daily but I do like to use a list when there is a lot to accomplish. It motivates me.

Yard – Y/N? Who does what?
Well, my hubby does the mowing and weed eating, blowing leaves, etc. But he doesn’t really like it! I’ve started to garden more (yes, Dad…I know it isn’t dirt, it is soil!). I am learning to like the yard better. I need more practice. I am not allowed to mow since I crashed our mower once. Don’t ask.

Zzz’s – What is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
Clearing out the sink, starting the dishwasher if needed, turning off lights and taking the dog out. I also lower the heat b/c we’re all snug under the covers at night and that really saves on your bill. Just making sure the house is in order for the next day.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

