How are you doing?

Far too often we answer that question with the trite, “Fine,” not wanting to discuss what’s really going on in our lives with others. Sometimes it’s just easier to brush it off, and bear the burden ourselves. Yet, by doing that, others aren’t able to help us share the burden, nor can they draw closer to us in sisterhood.  We isolate ourselves, thinking it’s easier to walk the path without opening up to others, and yet at times, the strength of a good friend is exactly what we need.

The past month or so has been one of change and growth for me. I’ve been much too busy to even write for this blog, and for that I apologize, but I’ve enjoyed the growth. I’m currently applying to a few full-time jobs at the local university. I’ve really felt led to seek full-time employment to get us out of debt and into a much better financial position once and for all. It’s scary as I don’t know what will come through, but I do hope one of the university jobs works out. Then comes the inevitable, “what are you going to do with Ava?” Luckily, there are very good day care centers in the area, one especially good one on the university campus itself. I feel confident that it will work out for the best, no matter what that decision is.

It’s weird because I feel that to some extent, I’m “failing” in other’s eyes if I put my child in day care. Like it’s a horrid thing to do to a child. Yet sometimes I think Ava will enjoy playmates and a change of scenery even more than staying at home with Mama. Katherine, one of my favorite bloggers, wrote a similar post on homeschooling. I really appreciated her words, as they definitely resonated with me. It’s more important that we do what’s best for our family in consultation with Heavenly Father, rather than what society/our friends/peers expect.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Gospel, Life, Moms, prayers, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How are you doing?

  1. Daniel says:

    As the husband and father, I just gotta say, you’re doing a fabulous job, honey! I love you.

  2. chellie says:

    I would hope that no one would look down on you for placing Ava in a day care. It’s never easy and there are downfalls, but there are so many good things too. To get her out and socializing and learning and seeing new things will be wonderful.
    I’m a stay at home mom, but actually take my son to classes so that he can go out and socialize and see new things and learn new things.
    It will all work out for you.

  3. Robin says:

    I started full-time work when I was 2 months pregnant with my son (who is now 3), and I just became stay-at-home with the birth of my daughter. It is not easy to work with a child – I dealt with feelings of guilt and my perceptions of other’s thoughts about me. But, I also can see where God has blessed us in the decision. My son plays very well with others, and loves being in a large family environment. If I had been stay-at-home with him from the beginning, he would not play with others as well as he does, and since we want to be foster parents, his playing well with others is very important to us.

  4. Hi Jaime,

    I was touched by your comment and now by your post. Making decisions that impact your family are so complex, aren’t they? I think the most important thing (as it appears you already have) is agreement with, and support from, your husband. There are tradeoffs in any decision. We sold a home when our kids were small because we were overcommitted financially. The release from financial stress brought so much peace, even though it was very humbling to go move into a small rental. The tradeoff was so worth it. I worked part-time for about 7 years with kids, so I know the tradeoffs there, too (mostly time and energy). I’ll be praying for you that you make a good decision that will benefit the whole picture of your family. God is faithful.

  5. John Taber says:

    We all have decisions to make. For my wife and me, the main one involves, now that she’s started graduate school, whether to pursue one master’s program or two. The wildcard there is that while we’ve been married now for two years and five months and don’t have children as of yet, they could arrive at any time along the way.

    At least her classes are at night, and on the same street as the building where I work. Theoretically at least we could meet in the parking lot around 5 pm and hand off a baby. But I wouldn’t be able to do that when she’s student teaching.

    At least we have a house in a decent neighborhood, even if the mortgage is a little high. My boss (the county executive) just released a study saying we county employees make too much money, comparatively. I guess he doesn’t know just how much houses cost around here, even in the bad neighborhoods.

Leave a Reply

