WFMW: Eating well with yummy foods

Shannon over at Rocks in My Dryer is hosting another themed Works For Me Wednesday this week. In light of all of us on New Year’s diets, she’s hosting one on eating well.

Dan & I started January 1st with the Biggest Loser Diet. Really it doesn’t feel like a diet. I’m not hungry, and I’m not keeping myself from my favorite tastes. I’m just watching how much I eat and how many servings of fruits, veges (4 per day minimum), meats/protein (3 per day) and grains (no more than 2 per day).

With that said, Dan & I have a new favorite dinner. It’s gluten free, delicious and a take off of two recipes in the Biggest Loser Cookbook.

Turkey Burgers:

1 pound ground turkey, extra lean (93% or leaner)

2 tbsps BBQ sauce

2 dashes of Adobo spices

Mix it all together. Make into patties, and grill or fry in a pan spritzed with Pam. Top with a presliced piece of cheese (half if the burgers are smaller), red onion rings, pickles, tomatoes, and lettuce. I like to put a thin swipe of magic mix on it too. Magic Mix is 2 tbsps mayo, 1 t mustard, 2 t ketchup (you can adjust this to taste).

Spicy Sweet Potato Fries

1 large sweet potato or 2 small sweet potatoes

Scrub the potatoes, and cut into thin julienne strips. Throw them into a bowl.

Top with 1 T EVOO, 2 T reduced fat parmesan cheese, dash each: paprika, garlic powder, black pepper, and a pinch of cayenne.

Mix potatoes with spices. Lay in a single layer on a cookie sheet covered with foil. Prespray foil with PAM to prevent sticking. Bake at 450 F for about 10 mins or so, flipping once. I like to dip them in ketchup.

As for serving size: Biggest Loser cookbook says each person should eat 3 oz of meat for the burger, but the pamphlet states each meal should have 8 oz of meat/protein per meal. I’m still a little confused there. I would say a good rule of thumb is nothing larger than your palm of your hand.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in recipes, Works For Me Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WFMW: Eating well with yummy foods

  1. Daniel says:

    Let me be the first to say that these Turkey burgers and spicy sweet potato fries are soooooo YUMMY!!!! It will be a weekly meal for us. That’s how tasty they are.

  2. Angie says:

    I am definitely a burger fan and will be trying this! I just posted a lighter recipe for blue cheese burgers that I’m sure could be made with turkey as well. I also have a recipe for a spicy Asian turkey burger on a previous post. I really didn’t intend to try to plug my blog, but I thought you might be interested!

  3. In His Hands says:

    I’m a huge sweet potato fry lover and the burger sounds great. Thanks for posting!

  4. Laurie says:

    We like those sweet potato fries. I can’t wait to try your recipe out, though! Thanks for putting that up!

  5. Laurie says:

    Update: We had your recipe tonight and they were WAAAAY better than how I had been preparing them! Very nice!!

  6. Sherpa says:

    I’ve been making sweet potato fries for a while, but I’ll have to try this particular recipe. Yum!

Leave a Reply

