Wordless Wednesday

JuneauIceFieldHeliMe

About Daniel

Life is grand. This is the story of a new family, a recently married couple and their honeymoon baby girl. Life throws at you some fastballs, and then some curveballs.
This entry was posted in Alaska\, Wordless Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wordless Wednesday

  1. Frances says:

    My aunt took a cruise to Alaska and told me she had found God’s country.
    Were you in the helicoptor?
    I would be sooo scared.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Frances
    Happy New Year

  2. Janet says:

    What’s the story here? That’s the thing about WW, it leaves me more and more curious about the stories behind the pics.

  3. Barbara H. says:

    I guess he must be pretty acclimated to the weather to be in shorts and a short-sleeved shirt!!

  4. Daniel says:

    Janet, Frances,

    This was when I worked as a tour bus driver in Alaska. This is the Juneau Icefield. As a reward for my work, I received a half-off fare to go dogsledding (I might share some of those pictures at a future Wordless Wednesday). The helicopter takes you up onto the Juneau Icefield. Right there, in the picture, I am standing on top of about 3000 feet of ice. I’m at an elevation of about 4000 feet. Those are 6000-9000 ft high peaks in the background. And yes, I am wearing shorts. 🙂

  5. Daniel says:

    Barbara,

    Yes, this picture was taken in August, and it was actually a rather warm day up on the icefield. 🙂

  6. Jessie says:

    Choppers rock! Happy WW!!

  7. Awesome photo.
    Mine’s up too.

  8. I can’t tell if that’s sand or snow? Judging by the shorts, it’s sand?

    That helicopter reminds me of the prop plane my husband and I traveled in on our way to Cozumel, Mexico. It was literally held together with duct tape. Talk about scary!

  9. Skittles says:

    I agree with another commenter who said these pictures make you wonder what the story is behind them! Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  10. Sherpa says:

    Um, that’s the sister helicopter of my helirappel crew in Moyer, ID. Actually, that may be the same helicopter. I think we were 183EH.

  11. amy says:

    YOu dont see that very often..good choice this week

  12. Bex says:

    Very cool photo! Very brave to be wearing shorts!

  13. See, now, that’s just like my husband. He would fly somewhere (if he knew how to fly) REALY COLD and arrive in shorts. Funny!

Leave a Reply

