11 Things in 101 Days

Update: I didn’t complete it, but I’m almost there on quite a few. We’re extending the deadline to April 15, to coincide with my favorite day of the year. You can see my progress below.

The Mission: Complete 11 preset tasks in a period of 101 days.

The Criteria: Tasks must be specific (no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (represent some amount of work on my part).

Why 101 Days? FDR did amazing things in this time, why can’t I? Other bloggers have set 101 goals for 1001 days, but that’s just way too big for me to think about right now as a new mom, brand new RS President, and newlywed. So I scaled back a little bit. Need help figuring out your ending date?

The Reward: Lots of checkmarks of things completed and all the satisfaction associated with that! (Can you tell I’m a type-A?!)
Thanks to Lindsey at Enjoy the Journey for inspiring me to create this list.

Jaime’s List
Starting Date: September 7, 2006 (My 30th birthday)

Updated December 27, 2006

Ending Date: Saturday, December 16, 2006, April 15, 2007

1. Go to the temple at least twice. (We’ve tried so many times, but things always seem to pop up. Hopefully this Friday it will all work out in our favor.)
2. Finish the Book of Mormon by November 2, to keep my commitment to Bonnie’s challenge. She challenged us to read the entire Book of Mormon in 65 days since Joseph Smith was able to translate it in that time.

3. Find my marriage certificate (or get a copy of it) and my passport and then get my PA driver’s license. It’s gotta be in one of these boxes around here somewhere!

4. Find part-time work that utilizes my education, skills, and still allows for family time.

5. Inspire the sisters to acheive at least 80% in visiting teaching for October and November. (Haha! I think this one will be rough in coming. VT stats fell drastically the past 2 months or so. Hopefully they’ll pick up in the new year.)

6. Finish the pink blanket for Ava that should have been done by May. (I’m striking this one because it’s physically impossible. I lost feeling in my hands for too long due to knitting and I’m not ready to go back to that).

7. Organize Ava’s room completely so it is functional.

8. Learn one more hymn on the piano.

9. Make at least 2 pieces for a certain friend.

10. Work out at least 3 times a week for 2 months straight. (Dan & I are starting a new diet plan come Jan 1, so this should be worked in easily)

11. Start an enrichment group.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Education, Life, Uncategorized, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 11 Things in 101 Days

  1. bonnie says:

    How’s that BOM reading coming along? I am just finishing 2Nephi. I can’t believe how quickly I’m getting through things! It is amazing how I’ll find myself thinking about the scriptures during the day.

  2. jaimeanne says:

    I’m in the middle of the Isaiah chapters. It’s been a tough week for it. The last two nights I’ve crashed at 8pm while putting Ava to sleep, so my scripture reading suffered. Hopefully I can get back on track!

  3. Pingback: Fall Into Reading: My List « The Life and Times of Daniel, Jaime, and Ava Simone

Leave a Reply

