2006: The Year in Review

I saw this on Mommy Brain‘s blog and it just seemed so appropos. I’m thankful for my blog simply because it inspires me to write the things I’d write in a journal, but it’s typed and published so I actually do it rather than just talking about it.

What did you do in 2006 that you’ve never done before?
Gave birth to a beautiful little girl.

Did you keep your New Years’ resolutions and will you make more for next year?
I had New Years’ resolutions?? I don’t even remember. . . I doubt I’ll make resolutions for this year. Maybe I’ll make a few short term goals and reevaluate in a month or so.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
my friends, Megan & Linda

Did anyone close to you die?
My great-aunt Rose in Florida passed on. So sad.

What countries did you visit?
This year I was only in the Eastern US. Hopefully we’ll be back in Europe soon enough.

What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
A financial plan that can weather numerous car repairs and other emergencies. Or maybe I just want a year without major emergencies. . . hmm.

What date from 2006 will remain etched in your memory and why?
May 3: Ava was born, and that forever changed my life.
March 23:  I left my home of 7 years, Manhattan. I miss it, and all of my friends so much.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Giving birth, moving twice, and somehow managing to be a half-decent RS President.

What was your biggest failure?
Keeping sane. Just kidding. Probably losing the baby weight.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nope, nothing major. Just morning all day sickness up until the end of April.

What was the best thing you bought?
Incrediblock for $25. Best deal ever, and it keeps her busy for hours minutes. She’ll spend all day trying to stand up on it.

Where did most of your money go?
Bills. Debt. Moving twice. NYS Taxes. I hate taxes.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Ava’s birth. Going back to the Bronx for my kids’ graduation. Penang’s pineapple chicken.

What scripture is a theme of 2006?
1 Nephi 13:37

And blessed are they who shall seek to bring forth my Zion at that day, for they shall have the gift and the power of the Holy Ghost; and if they endure unto the end they shall be lifted up at the last day, and shall be saved in the everlasting kingdom of the Lamb; and whoso shall publish peace, yea, tidings of great joy, how beautiful upon the mountains shall they be.

Compared to this time last year are you:

a. Happier or sadder?
Much more joyful. There are times of sadness though. It’s through those that I see the intense joy my family brings.

b. Thinner or fatter?
Well, considering I was hugely preggers a year ago, I’m somewhat thinner.

c. Richer or poorer?
Poorer. I had to quit my jobs, which made quite a bit of income. But we cut our living expenses by moving out of NYC. In the end, we’ll be better, it’s just a matter of getting there.

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Pondering the scriptures

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Moving–packing, unpacking, the whole nine yards

How did you spend Christmas?
My sister’s family and my father will come over to our house for our first Christmas hosting. I anticipate kids ripping open presents, good food and some fun laughs.

Did you fall in love in 2006?
I fell in love with my husband all over again.

What was your favorite TV show?
Survivor: Cook Islands–it’s a bad addiction! I also loved The Apprentice & Deal or No Deal. I’m a reality-TV freak.

What was the best book you read?
One Year Off: Leaving It All Behind For A Round-The-World Journey With Our Children Hopefully Dan & I can do that someday–at least on a smaller scale.

What was your greatest musical discovery of 2006?
Classical piano off of Dan’s iTunes playlists. I rediscovered Rhapsody in Blue which is by far one of my favorites of all time.

What did you want and get?
A home in the country, a daughter

What did you want and not get?
To go kayaking and ice skating

What was your favorite film this year?
Cars–I think that was the only movie we saw in the theaters since moving out to PA and having baby.

What did you do on your birthday?
Went out to dinner at the Outback. Ate the best gluten-free dessert around.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Greater financial stability. It seems like no matter what we do to get ahead, something pops up that continues to hold us down.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
Huh? I’m a mom, with a mommy belly right now. There’s no such thing as fashion for me. It’s what’s comfortable, fits and clean. And if I can pair it with something sassy, all the better. I just can’t wait until I can get out the heels again.

What kept you sane?
Blogging.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
President Gordon B. Hinckley, President Thomas S. Monson

What political issue stirred you the most?
Oh my pick one: the war in Iraq, the gay marriage amendment, Israel/Lebanon, Harry Reid/Nancy Pelosi. My husband gets much more riled up than I do these days.

Who did you miss?
My darling friends: Emme, Anne, Ripsy, Wendy, Dani, Corina

Who was the best new person you met?
Gayle

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.
That no matter what the Lord hears our prayers. Our answers aren’t always His, but eventually it will work out better than we imagine.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
I can think of two, as there’s not one that fits all of it.

I can let my hair down
I can say anything crazy
I know you’ll catch me, right before I hit the ground
With nothing but a t-shirt on
I never felt so beautiful
Baby as I do now
Now that I’m with you
–Jessica Simpson, “With You”

I have a family here on earth
They are so good to me
I want to share my life with them
for all eternity
Families can be together forever
Through Heavenly Father’s plan
I always want to be with my own family
And the Lord has shown me how I can
The Lord has shown me how I can.

Hymn #300, Families Can Be Together Forever

Let me know if you decide to do this meme on your site. It’s always fun to read these from others. I’m planning on doing this each year to see how I have grown and changed. 

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Family History, Gospel, Journal Keeping, Life, Meme, Money issues. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2006: The Year in Review

  1. frumom says:

    awesome things to really think about. Thanks

  2. chel says:

    wow… that was a lot of good info. I didn’t know you are the RS president… you must really have your hands full.

  3. Kipluck says:

    I think I may do this myself!

Leave a Reply

