Basic instincts

Last year:

  • Tiny apartment
  • On a busy block that housed lots of people, restaurants, cafes, and shoppes.
  • Bus stop out my bedroom window
  • Subway stop 2 blocks down
  • Heat through the walls–at least 85 degrees in the apartment at all times, unless the window was open.
  • Occasional gunshot
  • Loads of sirens, cars and buses.

This year:

  • Spacious home
  • On a 100 acre farm with cows, hayfields and 2 other homes
  • Deer and a woodpile outside my window
  • Nearest affordable grocery store–more than 30 minutes away
  • Wood burning furnace for heat
  • Occasional gunshots, especially in buck and doe seasons

Last year I would have laughed if you would’ve told me I’d be nursing a fire for heat. This year I wouldn’t have it any other way.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in homes, Life, Moving, NYC, PA, rural. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Basic instincts

  1. Kipluck says:

    WACKY. I am feeling the same way though… SO much can change in just a year!

  2. smartmama says:

    oh yes we’re not quite that rural but i have 15 min to hte grocery store- and wild turkeys!

  3. Bob Cobb aka "Pop Pop" says:

    Last Year: 125 mile drive from Dad
    This Year: 25 mile drive from Dad
    Last Year: No Grandchild
    This Year: Ava, my 3rd Grandchild

Leave a Reply

