A Date which will live in infamy

pr-81.jpg

I can’t believe it’s been 65 years since the attack on Pearl Harbor by the Japanese. I normally refrain from political posts on this blog, but one of my cousins died in this attack. This attack also pulled both of my grandfathers, great-grandmother, a great uncle and a great aunt into the military to fight for freedom and democracy for all.

I am most proud of the veterans, within my family and outside, for their dedication to freedom despite the high costs. Growing up on military bases showed me the sacrifices military families need to make simply to survive. Why we pay the essentials of our society (teachers, military, and nurses) such low wages is beyond me, but that’s fodder for another post in another venue.

To read my grandfather’s story aboard the USS Ticonderoga go here.  To hear FDR’s Day of Infamy speech, go here. I did this activity with my 8th grade students last year, and they LOVED listening to him while reading along.  To hear stories of other survivors, go here.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Family, Family History, Heroes, Journal Keeping, Life, Patriotism, Pearl Harbor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Date which will live in infamy

  1. Kipluck says:

    My Grandpa was there too. He has been dead a long time ago, but still sometimes it is just amazing to think how distant History really ISN’T.

Leave a Reply

