30 Day Organizational Challenge: The Final Edition

cato0bpl.jpg

So it’s finally that time! I can’t believe it’s been a month already! When this organizational challenge began, we were barely moved into this house. We had serious organization issues in the kitchen, but they have all been resolved and we now have a very functional homey place. As you can see in the before pictures, we could barely use any of the space in our kitchen. Things were piled up onto other “things.” Every available space was filled with stuff. After purging garbage and sorting through what’s really needed, we’re down to a manageable amount of stuff. Everything now has it’s place.

Before pics (I’m so embarrassed to even share these!)

IMG_3226

IMG_3225

IMG_3227

After pics–working from the fridge around counterclockwise:

IMG_3401

IMG_3408

IMG_3407

IMG_3402

IMG_3403

IMG_3404

IMG_3405

IMG_3406

This is in the kitchen, but the side nearest the dining room. Convenient for cereal in the morning. Mixes are good there, as you normally need eggs or milk to make them so pick up the mix, stop by the fridge (right behind it) and then go to the countertop to make magic.
IMG_3409

After pics: Dining Room. I realized everything wouldn’t fit in the kitchen, but I had plenty of room in the dining room and it was more convenient to have the stuff there anyways.

IMG_3412

IMG_3411

IMG_3410

My process was simple:

1. Realize not everything would fit in the kitchen. I can’t believe that a year ago I was in a kitchen 1/3 the size of this one, but I still needed to realize it wouldn’t all fit.

2. Take everything out and sort items into families. Put them together, and throw out what I didn’t need/want/use frequently enough.

3. Clean the cabinets/drawers. Make sure that the space is nice and clean before we put more stuff in it.

4. Buy containers appropriate for the spaces and items. The best ones were found at Dollar Tree, although I am recycling my old recycling bins from the Container Store to hold acorn squash, cereal and cleaning supplies (I didn’t show them in the pics, but they’re under the sink, nicely organized. Little child was around while I was photographing.)

5. Put things away after each use. In this process, I realized some things needed to move as they weren’t in a convenient spot. Dishes ended up moving into the dining room. It’s easier to pull them out and set the table. We always end up needing another plate or glass during dinner and they’re right there within arm’s reach. No screaming baby as we walk away from her to get dishes. All foods ended up in the kitchen near the stove and microwave where I’d need them.

Go visit Laura over at her blog to see who else was organizing and what they were up to this past month.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, homekeeping, organization, Personal >Daily Life - Orgnization. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 30 Day Organizational Challenge: The Final Edition

  1. Jenn says:

    Wow! You really put a lot of thought into all of this. I think the system looks really managable the way you have it set up!

  2. proverbs31 says:

    Wow, very well thought-out. I like having the dishes by the dining table.I keep thinking I need to do that, too, but there’s no storage space in my dining room! I’ll keep working on that. šŸ˜‰
    Everything looks much more functional. Good job!

  3. Kipluck says:

    Even at your messiest you will look like Martha Stewart compared to me. SIGH!

  4. I forgot that you were playing along, too. Great job! Isn’t it great to have thought it through? And you have some empty drawers to fill up sensibly as you need them!

  5. Krissy says:

    Looks fantastic! The kitchen is SUCH a difficult place to organize. I recently re-did mine as well. I have to reorganize it every couple years after acquiring new “tools” and items so that it works better. Enjoy your new space!! šŸ™‚

  6. Kara says:

    Great job working with the space you have! When we moved our kitchen was only 1/2 the size I was used to and it took some reorganizing to make everything fit well. I think you were very creative in making spaces for things.

  7. katie says:

    great job jaime! guess who didn’t get her challenge finished. me. big surprise.

  8. bimw says:

    You did a fantastic job! That was a big job, and it looks great now!! I really love your dishes, those are so cool!

  9. Katrina says:

    Oh it looks wonderful!! Good job!

  10. Laura says:

    Well done! I love all the effort you put in to labeling the pictures as well and the use of the dresser was brilliant. Very well thought out. Laura

  11. Bethany says:

    Goodness, I love all the organizing bins you have everywhere! one day I hope to make my kitchen as organized. I have way too many junk drawers. Awesome job!

  12. You did such a good job Jaime! I’m so happy for you and your newly organized kitchen!

Leave a Reply

