WFMW–Moving day!

wfmwheader_copy3_2

No, I’m not moving again (for a long long long time!). We just moved my Mother this past month, and here are a few tips.

1) Go to the new house the day before if possible to make sure the heat, electricity, phone are all working. Turn on the fridge and freezer.

2) Label all boxes! Use color coded stickers or Sharpie thick markers.

3) Pack what you *need* the first few days in your new house in one or two well-labeled boxes. If possible, use boxes that are totally different than the others so they stick out. This will alleviate the “where’s-my-toothbrush?” frantic unpacking.

4) When you are unloading the boxes into the home, put them in the correct rooms if at all possible. Don’t just leave them in the middle of the floor. Stack them nicely along the walls, with the labels facing out, so you have some room to work.

5) Set up your bed and living room furniture first. Those are the most important rooms in my opinion, especially if you were lifting all of those boxes yourself!

6) Purchase or pre-freeze a few skillet meals or crock pot meals. If you only have to find 1 skillet and a spatula or a crockpot and spoon to cook, it will be much easier. I even had a few women in the church ask if they could cook for me. So handy.

7) Buy some paper plates and plastic cups to have on hand. It’s tradition here to buy pizza for anyone that helps you move, but Domino’s (or most other pizzerias) don’t provide plates or cups. It’s also nice to have them on hand for the next day or so of meals until your dishes are put away.

I’m sure there are more tips, but those are what work for me.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Moving, Uncategorized, Works For Me Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WFMW–Moving day!

  1. Lady Why says:

    I’m breaking out in hives at the very thought of moving again! I despise moving and the chaos it brings to the household, schedule, and sanity! Ha! Ha! Those are great tips which I hopefully won’t have to use for quite some time!! Thank you for sharing them!

  2. Mieneke says:

    Very handy tips. I like the idea of a well organized move. The whole process can be mindboggling as it is! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Nettie says:

    I’ve unfortunately moved far more frequently than I would like in my life. You have great tips! I personally found that finding a place to put all the boxes where I don’t have to look at them till I unpack them helped us get back to a sense of normalcy sooner. I hate living with boxes all over the house!

  4. tammy says:

    Good tips – thanks for sharing!

    These remind me of my favorite tip regarding moving: on the morning of the move, you have only the essentials out – and likely the first things you’ll need in the new home. (Shower curtains, toilet paper, contact lens solution, alarm clock, scissors, etc.) I put all of these in a box as soon as I’m done with them, put it in the front seat of my car, and make it the first box that goes inside. And to make sure I know where it is, I put it in the bathtub. That way, it’s completely apart from the other items and I always know where it is!

  5. Larae says:

    Great ideas! Thanks for sharing =)

  6. Cyndi says:

    We are just beginning to contemplate a move, and I’m so glad I came across your tips! I’ll be bookmarking this page for sure. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

