Meme for Monday #4

I’ve seen this meme all over, and I can’t help but participate, as I love love love books.

  1. Where do you most often buy your books? Online? Secondhand stores? Big name bookstores? Being out in the middle of nowhere, I usually get books online, but get me into a bookstore and it’s a guaranteed purchase, even when I swear I won’t buy anything at all.
  2. If you buy online, which do you prefer – B&N or Amazon.com? Ebay? Christianbook.com? or elsewhere? Usually Amazon.com although I *loved* B&N when I was in Manhattan–same day delivery for some books. It was perfect.
  3. Do you put your name in your books? If so, are you a bookplate or stamp person? I almost always put my name in my books, but I’m not as high tech as a bookplate or a stamper. I usually take the old fashioned cursive name. Ever since I’ve started selling books on Amazon, I’ve been careful to only mark the ones I really think I’ll keep.
  4. How do you feel about loaning books to others? I’m hesitant. I’ve lost way too many books over the years to warrant lending them out. Although, in the end I guess it somewhat balances out, as I have at least 3 books I need to send back to my NYC friends (sorry Laura!)
  5. Do you highlight or mark your books as you read? If it’s non-fiction, yup. I’ll either use a scripture marking pencil with a ruler or a good highlighter. I can’t help myself from writing notes in the side too. If it’s fiction, I don’t mark it at all.
  6. How often do you visit your local library? My township doesn’t have one. I went to the one in town when I lived there, but I’ve been told I now need to pay $35/year which is just not worth it to me. Their selection is too old to warrant the money.
  7. Do you collect any certain kind of book? I’m building a collection of children’s books and classics. I’ve got tons and tons of social science books from my schooling, and I’d like to build a stronger education library as I think I’ll be back in the schools (or running a school) at some point.
  8. What do you do when you’re done with a book and no longer want it? I sell them on Amazon. I’ve made over $150 on books I’d never read again. I need to be better at getting them to the post office within 48 hours though. It’s hard with baby and a 35 minute drive to the post office.
  9. Do you keep a list of or catalog the books you own? Nope. You’d think we would with my husband being a librarian and all. We may in the future, as I’d envision our library getting much larger.
  10. Any other weird book habits you’d like to share? I’m a voracious reader for a while, then I’ll take a break from reading. I can read books quickly, but if I’m not into it there is no way in the world I’ll pick it up thrice. I love to reread my favorite books over and over. I used to be incredibly meticulous about using bookmarks, but since baby I’ve been folding down pages more and more. I know, I know. .

If you are a bibliophile too, feel free to do this and let me know in the comments. I’d love to see what y’all are reading too.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meme for Monday #4

  1. Katrina says:

    Yeah, I fold down my corners too. I have tons of bookmarks, but usually just can’t be bothered to track one down when I need it!

    I didn’t know that B&N made same day deliveries in NY. If they did that around here, it would be VERY dangerous for me – way, way too tempting!

    Thanks for doing this!

Leave a Reply

