Fifty-eight: In honor of the end of Children’s Book Week

Thanks to Jennifer, Snapshot I now remember that November 13 – 19 was Children’s Book Week. Being a teacher and the wife of a librarian, we’re *kinda* fans of books around here. Ok, honestly we have more books than probably anything else. So, when I saw this challenge on Jennifer, Snapshot, I thought I would participate. Here are the rules:

Mark the selections you have read in bold. If you liked it, add a star (*) in front of the title, if you didn’t, give it a minus (-). Then, put the total number of books you’ve read in the subject line.

*Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White way so sad though, especially for me as a little girl
The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg
*Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss One of my favorites of all time. I cried when I found out that he died.
*The Cat in the Hat by Dr. Seuss I look forward to reading this one to Ava.
*Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak I love love love the artwork to this one.
Love You Forever by Robert N. Munsch
*The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein Love Shel. If you haven’t been to his website, go. Now. He performs his work. It’s fabulous.
*The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle
*Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls
The Mitten by Jan Brett
Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown
Hatchet by Gary Paulsen Tried to read a few times, couldn’t get into it.
*The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis I know this won’t win me friends, but CS Lewis is not a good writer. He takes too long to say anything. Excellent story though.
***Where the Sidewalk Ends: the Poems and Drawing of Shel Silverstein by Shel Silverstein One of my favorite books. Ever.
Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
Stellaluna by Janell Cannon
*Oh, The Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss Watching the BYUSA President read this one year was priceless.
Strega Nona by Tomie De Paola
Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst
*Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see? by Bill Martin, Jr. I must read this at least 3 times a week.
*Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
*The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
*How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss
*The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Scieszka
*Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by John Archambault
We read this at the day care the other day with the kids for my 1st time. Adorable way to learn the alphabet.
*Little House on the Prarie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
*The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
*The Complete Tales of Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne
*The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
*Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks
*Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell
(I did a book project on this one in elementary school. . .)
*Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli
The BFG by Roald Dahl
*The Giver by Lois Lowry
If You Give a Mouse a Cookie by Laura Joffe Numeroff
*James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl
Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor Boring. . .
The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (I just can’t get into this. My husband hopes someday I will as he LOVES LOTR. I can’t stand it)
*The Lorax by Dr. Seuss
Stone Fox by John Reynolds Gardiner
*Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh by Robert C. O’Brien
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
*The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister
Gorgeous book
Amazing Grace by Mary Hoffman
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson
Corduroy by Don Freeman
*Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg
Math Curse by Jon Scieszka
Matilda by Roald Dahl
Summer of the Monkeys by Wilson Rawls
*Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume I met her once in 4th grade or so and I thought I was sooooo cool for meeting Judy Blume. Eh, I guess I still do think I’m cool for that. 😉
*Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary

The Trumpet of the Swan by E. B. White
*Are You My Mother? by Philip D. Eastman
*The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey
*One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss
The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats
The Napping House by Audrey Wood
Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William Steig
*The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter
*Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
The first present I ever got from one of my students.
**The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
*Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery
*Horton Hatches the Egg by Dr. Seuss

Basil of Baker Street, by Eve Titus
*The Little Engine That Could by Watty Piper
The Cay by Theodore Taylor
*Curious George by Hans Augusto Rey
Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge by Mem Fox
Arthur series by Marc Tolon Brown
The Great Gilly Hopkins by Katherine Paterson
Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse by Kevin Henkes
Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder
The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton
The Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown
*Sideways Stories from Wayside School by Louis Sachar
*Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish
*Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

*A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein
Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard Atwater
My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett
*Stuart Little by E. B. White
Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech
I don’t remember it well, but know I’ve read it.
*The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
I remember doing a book report on this one in 5th grade. Oh so fun!
The Art Lesson by Tomie De Paola
Caps for Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina
*Clifford, the Big Red Dog by Norman Bridwell
Heidi by Johanna Spyri
*Horton Hears a Who by Dr. Seuss
*The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare
*The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis
If I didn’t get pregnant and leave the classroom, I would have done this book with one of my 8th grade classes. They would have loved it when we did the Civil Rights unit.
*Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney
**The Paper Bag Princess by Robert N. Munsch

I won’t issue it as a challenge, but I know I have alot of well-read readers who frequent this blog. Feel free to take it up and let me know.

If I were to offer up a challenge, it would be to pick up a book you haven’t yet read, and now read it.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Education, Journal Keeping, Life, Meme. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fifty-eight: In honor of the end of Children’s Book Week

  1. smartmama says:

    Oh i feel so well read- I’ve read all but 4 of them!! Don’t ask me about the NY times bestsellers cause then I’d be embarassed! I guess that is what comes of being a teacher, having to take children’s lit in college, being a mom, and an avid children’s book collector – I always justify it with the research that a child needs exposure to a couple hundred (i dont’ remember 250-300?) books to “learn to read”- well we far surpassed that- 1 and 1/2 bookshelves ago! I seriously have scored big at DI and library books sales at 25 cents a pop for great classics! I can’t pass them up!
    BOOKS ROCK!

Leave a Reply

