Sunday thoughts

“Attending Church is, or should be, a respite from the pressures of everyday life. It should bring peace and contentment.”—President Boyd K. Packer
Ensign, Nov. 1998, 23

We just got home from the 2nd session of Stake Conference and I do feel like it was a respite from everyday life. Sure we had to drive an hour each way, both last night and this morning, but the sessions were so good, that I’m not even bothered.

One of the things they discussed was Sabbath Day observance. Are we really keeping the Sabbath holy, or is church just a three-hour break in the monotony of regular life? It’s something I’ve been thinking about alot lately. What can I do to better worship on Sunday, rather than just rest and relax?  Here are a few things I came up with, and I plan on doing today and in the future:

1) Reading my scriptures

2) Writing in my journal

3) Writing cards/letters/emails to old friends or missionaries serving in the field

4) Visiting those who are shut-in, sick, older, or just plain loved but not seen enough

5) Inviting a family from church over for dinner. What better way to build community than to really get to know people on a personal level? We always have enough food, so this will be fun.

6) Calling those who I have been thinking about over the week, but have been much too busy during daylight hours to call.

I’m sure there are more ideas. Please comment and leave me your suggestions of other things I can do on the Sabbath to worship and more fully make the day holy.  

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Church, Family History, Gospel Principles, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday thoughts

  1. smartmama says:

    my husband and I try to have gospel discussions, we have a sunday file (of games, old friend activties,etc) that we do with our kids, scripture charades, we watch family movies

  2. Laurie says:

    Wow, this entry is so inspiring to me!

    I LOVE the idea of writing missionaries and having other families over for dinner. It seems so simple, yet I never would have thought to do it. Usually my Sundays consist of being on Linkup (BAD idea), catching up on cleaning, and watching tv in the evening. I’m so totally going to follow your example. Thanks so much for thinking of this.

Leave a Reply

