Whew! It’s my 100th. . .

I can’t believe this is my 100th post! I had thought about doing one of those 100 things about me lists, but quite frankly, I’m sick of lists and boring blog posts. I have the 100 in the works, but I’ll save it for later when I’m ready to do a list again. I’ve been staring at that Thursday’s 13 for over a week now every time I open the net, and it’s time to spice it up!

We just got back from an 8 hour journey to Rhode Island to visit Dan’s sister and mother. I expected a horrid trip complete with screamin’ mimi for all 8 hours, but Ava was a total and complete doll. Sure she had her moments, but nothing a toy, a little food , and a good rest stop couldn’t handle. I’ll have some tips for travelling with infants soon. Once we find the camera cord, we’ll upload a few pics also. Mamica & Silvia got Ava the most adorable little Gap outfit. I’m not one for branded clothes (yes, yes I know I used to design them!) but this outfit is just adorable. I may even enter her in the Baby Gap contest.

https://i2.wp.com/www.boardgamesexpress.com/images/monophereandnow.jpg

For the past week or so, I’ve barely been online. For a few days we didn’t have the internet set up, and it allowed us time to sit around and play Monopoly-Here & Now. So fun! It’s like the old version, but everything is updated. No more of this piddly $200 as you pass Go, but $2 million. Community Chest & Chance cards talk about internet service providers, book royalties from TV appearances, and being a reality TV show contestant. My least favorite Community Chest card was the one where I owed back taxes so I had to pay some exhorbitant late fee in the area of $1 million! Eeek! The Railroads are gone, replaced by major airports. A visit to one airport if the owner has all four is in the neighborhood of $2 million!  But that’s nothing compared to Times Square with a hotel! Over this past summer, millions voted for the attractions that would be on each space. The graphics are interesting and beautiful in color. The board has definite visual appeal, with the exception of Washington, DC where the US flag is obscured by the type. I kept swatting at it, thinking it was a spec of dirt, only to discover it was really the US flag. Oops! It cost me $15 at Walmart for the Limited Edition board, which was twice the amount of the regular edition.

4-stars1.jpg

Daily life around here has been wonderful. Lindsey had her 30 days of less. I tell you, losing the internet, playing some old-school board games definitely gave us more around here. More family, more fun, and more togetherness. Sometimes less tech, less clutter, and less noise are what we all need.

I’m off to go stare at the millions of stars off my deck. I love being in the country!

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whew! It’s my 100th. . .

  1. Kipluck says:

    Hey, sounds fun! I love board games.

    (I wonder how many posts I have made so far yet?)

Leave a Reply

