Money Saving Measures

So I was reading a bunch of financial blogs today. I’m not exactly  ummm financial savvy, so I’ve been trying to read up, as Dan and I try to eliminate debt. Here are a few interesting ways to save money by reducing your energy costs, orginally published at Get Rich Slowly.

* If you use space heaters instead of central heating, you can save nearly $1200/year!
* If you use fans instead of air conditioning, you can save about $600/year.
* If you dry your clothes on a line instead of in a dryer, you can save $150/year.
* If you wash your laundry in cold water instead of hot, you can save $150/year.
* If you replace regular light bulbs with compact fluorescents, you can save nearly $100/year.
* If you get rid of your television, you can save $75/year.
* If you put your computer in sleep mode when you’re not using it, you can save $60/year.

I knew there was wisdom in putting the computers to sleep!  And now think of this– If we got rid of the TV we’d save $75/year in energy + $39/mo in cable/Dish fees. That’s over $550/year (probably more since I didn’t include taxes!) Wow. So am I really ready to give up on Survivor and Deal or No Deal? I’m not so sure yet, but are they really worth $550? ehhh, probably not. . .

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Life, Money issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

