I’m glad we left. . .

I never ever thought I would say that I am glad we left Manhattan. We had a great life. Good jobs, nice apartment, parks, restaurants!! Oh do I miss the Thai and Malaysian food there. I even miss the Dominican mangu.

But I definitely don’t miss rats in the streets, a rare mouse in the house or cockroaches. But eh, they pretty much left me alone. I never had to touch them or have them in my proximity. But now there’s a new epidemic–Bedbugs. It’s so bad that it’s everywhere from the small SROs to the elite coops on the Upper West & Upper East Sides. One man in a posh condo had to spend $16K for rug removal and cleaning when his home became infested with this horrid beast.

One woman even caught them in a jar on her bed table. Ick.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in NYC. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m glad we left. . .

  1. redhatmandan says:

    I’ve had to deal with bedbugs in Romania on my mission. Let me tell you, I am totally with my wife, and super glad we’re not having to deal with bedbugs now.

Leave a Reply

