Dear Perla,

Dear Perla,

I love you dearly. You are a wonderfully loving and loyal dog. We’ve had so many good times! Remember when we went to Bed, Bath & Beyond on 6th Ave for the first time together? You loved sitting on the cushion in the cart, watching the people as I stocked up on stuff for the house. Or remember your first ride on the subway and how scared you were? You just shook the entire way downtown, but what fun you had walking around Central Park and Union Square! You were entirely in your element, exploring the new neighborhood and all the things the other dogs have written on the sidewalks.

Remember when you first met my ex-boyfriend and how you hated him? Yeah, you were pretty protective of me and you knew well before I did that he wasn’t the guy for me. Or remember the first time Dan & I took you up to RI, and you met Sable, Babe, Chevy and Snoopy? Yeah it was overload of dogs, and Babe was a little dominant, but after a few visits you were running with the pack, enjoying yourself.

Remember Daisy, the silly little puppy we tried to adopt? Yeah you weren’t about to let her turn you into a little silly puppy again. You played once or twice, but you had to let her know what a dignified little pooch did in Manhattan. On the walks, you were able to walk easily on a leash, and I thank you for setting the good example for Daisy. She learned alot from watching you.

I learned alot about healing and moving on from you. You were a fabulous example of perseverence. You loved, even though there were those who really hurt you in the past. You were able to move on from that.

I swore I would keep you forever. Unfortunately I can’t keep that promise. The Lord is taking me in one direction and you in another. Know that I love you, and we’ll find each other in the spirit world once all is said and done. May you enrich someone else’s life as much as you have enriched mine.
Many hugs,

Your owner, Jaime
Jaime and Perla

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Family, Family History, homes, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dear Perla,

  1. redhatmandan says:

    We’re going to miss dearly our little Perla. She is a good dog, and we’re glad she will get a loving home.

  2. Kipluck says:

    this made me cry.

    i miss my cassie.

  3. Laurie says:

    *tears*

    I’m glad she’s going to a wonderful home. I’m sure you’re going to miss her. It sounds like she’s going to someone who needs her right now.

Leave a Reply

