Heroes: A great new show!

NBC has premiered a great new show called Heroes on Monday nights. The premise is simple: What if you discovered you had extraordinary abilities?

I’ve loved superheroes stories since I was a kid, and I’ve written several stories of my own about people given extraordinary powers. In fact, I wrote one recently (still incomplete) called The Adventures of Silvia Perju. Here is The Prologue and Chapter One. I’ve put on my writing blog the first four chapters and the incomplete chapter five. Of course, my stories deal with aliens too. I’m also a Sci Fi geek. 🙂

In any case, back to Heroes. I’m glad to see that the writers have written a good story, with various good characters. I love Claire’s character, the cheerleader in Texas, who seems indestructable, though this last episode had an interesting ending regarding her abilities. Hiro, the Japanese guy who can teleport himself through time, is a hoot, and bings much needed humor into the show.

One thing I would recommend to the writers is to please make it less dramatic, and more fun. Have fun with the characters. So many of them have morbid lives, with troubled pasts and presents. Drop it. Let your characters have fun. It is the essence of a superhero to not be so down on himself or herself. My two favorite characters are the happy ones. Claire’s past revolves around being adopted. That’s not so bad. Hiro is a regular Japanese office worker, but his life seems fun. All the other characters are troubled in some way or another. Don’t get bogged down by their baggages. Let them soar as superheroes!

About Daniel

Life is grand. This is the story of a new family, a recently married couple and their honeymoon baby girl. Life throws at you some fastballs, and then some curveballs.
This entry was posted in Heroes, Television. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

