Heartbreak. . .

Update:It turns out the people in NY need a couple more weeks, which I can’t wait longer than 10 days. So Perla will go to York, PA to a vet who runs a rescue down there. If y’all feel moved, please pray for her. She’s had so much turmoil in her little life, and I know this will be incredibly hard on her, especially after I left her at the groomer today for an hour and she thought I was dead.

It’s tearning me apart, but the Lord has ways and I don’t understand them. So I trust and hope.

A few years ago when my best friend and longtime NYC roomie moved to LA, I replaced her with a few couches and a pooch. We’ve had good times together over the years, but alas I can’t take her to my new home.

perla1.jpg

I’m torn–I signed a contract saying I would let the agency I got her from find her a new home. But they are dragging their feet, since they don’t have a good home and they aren’t a shelter. I have a friend who knows someone who does this on their own, but then I’m breaking the contract I’ve signed. In the end it comes down to the question: Do I trust that the NYC agency will find better homes? or Will the PA person find her a better home?

On the NY side, Perla found me there. We’ve had many joyous times, and I know there are many like minded dog-owners there. But there are also those who will take her, and then abuse her or leave her on the street half dead. I know this because it’s happened once to her.

On the PA side, people are less affluent, generally here, but they have more land. She has a chance of a home with someone who has land, or at a minimum a yard. It’s definitely the unknown.

What would you do?

perla4.jpg

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, NYC. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heartbreak. . .

  1. Sherpa says:

    Shoot, I’d personally take her if I could have a pet here. She’s close enough to pick up anyway.

    I’d probably go with PA. Although New Yorkers are so good to their dogs, she’d probably enjoy the chance to run around in Pennsylvania.

  2. laurie says:

    I wonder if there’s a way to safely (with as little trauma as possible) to ship her to Utah. I would LOVE to adopt Perla; we are seriously considering adopting a pet once we move into our new home.

  3. jaimeanne says:

    Laurie, I would sooooo ship her to live in Utah with you guys. You know how to get a hold of me if you decide you can take her.

    As I read this though, I realize I didn’t mention her “special needs.” She was found on the street, wandering the South Bronx. She had an inflamed uterus. The rescue organization took her to their vet, who tried to open her up to spay her but her uterus was too infected. So they shut her up. Two days later, they reopened her and spayed her, but they accidentally cut her urinary and digestive systems. They reconnected her and she’s fairly normal now– like she is housetrained and knows not to do it in the house. But I keep her in diapers (size 1 baby diapers with a hole cut for the tail) when she’s in the house because she likes to sit up on the couches with us, and she sometimes leaks a little without knowing it. This way she has what she wants, and I get the clean couches. 🙂

    This is part of the reason why I’m so nervous about finding her a good home. She’s a great dog, but she’s not for someone who can’t really take care of her.

  4. jaimeanne says:

    Someone from NY called on her today. It sounds like it could be a really good situation. Cross your fingers for us!

  5. sherpa says:

    Hope it works out!!

  6. Kipluck says:

    Oh the poor darling!!!! She is in my prayers! My pets are my family, so I can not imagine how you must be worrying. I hope you can find somebody worthy!

Leave a Reply

