Mindboggled and it hurts

So this issue hits home for me. I’ve only been out of the classroom since March, and I may be going back at some point. I kinda miss it which is why I work at a day care–I’m there, but I’m not. But that’s all besides the point. . .

I’ve been reading on various discussion boards about this Wisconsin legislator’s idea to arm teachers. Amongst the teacher blogs and boards, they are vehemently against it. One brought up the fact that she has had numerous items stolen in her classroom. I think back– I had pens, pencils, books, confiscated hats, and money out of my purse in a locked closet–all stolen. If the kids managed to take all of that without getting caught, how does that bode for a weapon were I to carry one?

Then there’s the fact that teachers are expected to do all sorts of other tasks, aside from actual teaching, that how in the world do they have time to worry about carrying a gun and using it if need be?

I think back to the gangbangers I taught. I know they carried knives and possibly drugs some days. Now if I, as the teacher, am packing heat, how in the world can I tell them that there’s a better way to deal with their problems than resorting to fighting and violence?

Should I compare weapons with them? That’s a whole new form of bonding.

And then I read LDSLinkup. Conservatives all up in arms, talking about teachers needing to be armed. One even went so far to say to me,

“So. . . you’d rather watch little Amish girls take bullets to the back of their heads unarmed than to have a means to defend them and yourself?”

Really who wants that? No one that is sane. I don’t. But teaching needs to be left to the teachers, and security with those who make that their career. Each NYC school has numerous NYPD School Safety agents who are armed and dangerous. They are there to protect me so I don’t have to worry. Even the schools out here in rural PA have armed guards.

If we keep the perimeters locked and guards monitoring the entrances, why should teachers have to arm themselves? Theoretically they shouldn’t.

The more I think about this, the more I want to homeschool. I was a dang good teacher. I don’t normally toot my own horn, but I know I was good at it. I managed classes of 36 clinically insane children for 90 minutes at a time, and somehow they managed to learn a lot about history and even more about life during that time. But it was tough. I don’t want my child’s education to suffer as their teacher worries about student behavior, and the gun they are carrying.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Education, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

