Teaching with a Gun?

Shootings in the schools. Twenty years ago it was unheard of. Since we’ve had students, teachers and principals being murdered in their own school. Random strangers walking into a school to massacre sweet little Amish girls in their one room schoolhouse. That one really shook me.

As more schools install metal detectors, one Wisconsin lawmaker is proposing that teachers carry concealed weapons in the school. ?!?! I don’t like to deal with politics here, but are we really at a point where we need to have our sweet kindergarten teachers carrying weapons?

I’m the daughter of a US Marine. I was taught to shoot a gun at age three, or something ridiculously young like that. I remember target practice at age 13, and I was one smokin’ shot, if I do say so myself! But would I really want to carry that gun with me everyday as I taught in the Bronx? My parents wanted to buy me Kevlar in the beginning, but it was more of a joke than anything. But a gun?!

Let’s say for a second that we do allow this. If you have a gun on your body, you’d best be 1) willing to use it, and 2) a dang good shot, so they don’t take it off of you before you get the shot off. I’m not so sure I’d fit both of those, and thinking of every teacher that I’ve worked with over the years, I can think of *maybe* one or two that would fit both of those categories. And they were both ex-cops.

Are we willing as a country to make our teachers take target lessons as a part of their licensing and certification?

More and more I think I’m in favor of homeschooling. I would not have trusted a single teacher in my last school to carry and use a gun. It would be laughable to insinuate that the administration would also. I think I may just keep Ava at home when it comes to that time, simply because she’s worth it.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Education, Life, World Events. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Teaching with a Gun?

  1. redhatmandan says:

    Let’s do homeschooling. Or sell my soul to some corporation and send our kids to great schools abroad or something.

  2. jaimeanne says:

    No selling of the soul. Ava & I need you, complete with soul, here for us. Homeschooling sounds like a good option.

  3. chellie says:

    Times have sure changed… haven’t they? It almost makes me sad just to think of it. We as mothers (and fathers) shouldn’t have to worry about sending our kids to school, yet we should be.

  4. Kipluck says:

    The whole idea… life is SCARY these days. School shootings make me wonder if everyone will end up homeschooling someday. It is all so sad. It isn’t that I can’t shoot. My dad made sure of that. One of my earliest memories was of a shooting range (but just with a 22 (dad’s a hunter). But all the teachers… I don’t know… I just don’t know.

Leave a Reply

