Bloggy Tour of Testimonies

For as long as I can remember, I’ve known the basic questions: Where did we come from? and Where are we going to? I was blessed to have wonderful parents who taught me the answers to these questions since I was a pre-schooler, or maybe even younger.

I am a child of God
And He has sent me here
Has given me an earthly home
with parents kind and dear

Chorus:
Lead me, guide me
Walk beside me
Help me find the way
Teach me all that I must do
To live with Him someday.

I am a child of God
And so my needs are great
Help me to understand His words
Before it grows too late.

Chorus

I am a child of God
Rich blessings in store
If I but learn to do His will
I’ll live with Him once more.

Chorus

As I think of what I want to make sure my child knows of my testimony, I’d hope she first points to that hymn, I am a Child of God. As a teen and young adult, I made some stupid decisions. I’m not perfect by any means, but since I’ve had a deep testimony of my divine nature, I’ve made better, more righteous choices. It has brought me infinitely closer to my Heavenly Father.

James 1:5 says,

If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not, and it shall be given him.

I’ve taken this scripture to heart. Yesterday during General Conference, one of the apostles said something to the effect of, “If you want to talk to God, you pray. If you want God to talk to you, you read the scriptures.” I can attest to this. As I’ve come to the Lord in prayer, He has helped me to find the answers I’ve needed.

I know that my Redeemer Lives
What comfort this sweet sentence gives
He lives, He lives who once was dead
He lives, my everliving Head
He lives to bless me with His love
He lives to plead for me above
He lives, my hungry soul to feed
He lives to bless in time of need

He lives to grant me rich supply
He lives to guide me with his eye
He lives to comfort me when faint
He lives to hear my soul’s complaint
He lives to silence all my fears
He lives to wipe away my tears
He lives to calm my troubled heart
He lives all blessings to impart

He lives, my kind, wise Heavenly friend
He lives and loves me to the end
He lives and while He lives I’ll sing
He lives, my Prophet, Priest and King.
He lives and grants me daily breath
He lives and I shall conquer death
He lives my mansion to prepare
He lives to bring me safely there.

He lives! All glory to His name.
He lives, my Savior still the same
Oh sweet, the joy this sentence gives
I know that my Redeemer lives.

This hymn brings tears to my eyes each time I sing it, as I know that no matter what, He is there. He is willing to work with me to bring me back to Him. He is there to carry me through the hard times of life, and to bless me when it fits into His plan. This past week has once again shown me that the Lord does know me–little, old me. He knows what I need, and He knows how to give it to me. He knows my situation much better than I do, and He has provided ways out of situations that I didn’t think possible.

No matter how far we may have gone from Christ, He will always be there to welcome us back. No sin, no transgression is too much. He has gone below it all to ensure that we can repent and return to Him.

I am grateful that Joseph Smith asked God in the spirit of James 1:5 about which church to join. Because of his plea, God restored the priesthood power to the earth and revealed the Book of Mormon and the Doctrine & Covenants. These books along with the Bible have blessed my life more than I can express. So often when times are tough, I have relied on Nephi’s example:

I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know the Lord giveth no commandment unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them to accomplish the thing which He commandeth them. –1 Nephi 3:7

I am blessed to have this knowledge. For those who are interested in how I came to this knowledge, please see this post. Its been a life-long journey, and it will continue hopefully through my children long after I am gone. My parents helped me to gain my testimony and I hope that I can do the same.

Lauren at Created for His Glory had the brilliant idea of a Bloggy Tour of Testimonies. I love the idea! What better way to share our deepest truths and learn from others. There are plenty more to view at her site.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Gospel, Journal Keeping, Mormon, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bloggy Tour of Testimonies

  1. Kilikina says:

    Thanks for sharing!
    I posted mine today.

  2. Nettie says:

    What a beautiful testimony! Those are two of my all time favorite hymns/church songs.

  3. carboneau says:

    Thanks for sharing your testimony. I was wondering if you’d like to post it on my new site called ShareMyTestimony.org?

    I created the site to let Christians share their testimonies, and read other testimonies to see how God is working in the lives of others.

    If you’d like to contact me, you can click on the contact link on my site.

    Thanks,
    Justin

Leave a Reply

