Fall Into Reading: My List

fallreadingborder.1

I’m so glad I stumbled on this opportunity! Katrina over at Callapidder Days discovered that many of us bloggin’ women have oodles of unfinished books on our shelves, and piles more that we want to read. So the challenge is simple:

Set a booklist reading goal. It can be your own personal list, or that of your family for the period of Sept 23- Dec 21, 2006. Of course you can join in late, or continue reading afterwards, but this is meant to create some sense of accountability for us. If you want to join, or see what others are reading, go here.

I don’t have tons of time to read these days between the baby, an upcoming move (more on that later), church, institute and family, but I do read myself to sleep, and I read while I’m nursing Ava to sleep. So here’s my rather small list– If I make it through these, then I’ll add some more.

1. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

2. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne (I’m not sure why I love this one so much, but this will be my 3rd or 4th time reading it).

3. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne

4. One Year Off: Leaving it all Behind for a Round-the-World Journey with Our Children by David Elliot Cohen

5. Family Travel: The Farther You Go, the Closer You Get edited by Laura Manske

6. The Book of Mormon, as I’m trying to finish it by Nov 2 to keep my commitment to Bonnie. I hope I can do it! I’ve been reading the Old Testament for Sunday School and the Doctrine & Covenants for Institute, which means that I haven’t been able to do 10 pages a day of the Book ofMormon.

If I somehow get through these, then I want to pick up A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and Joseph Smith Rough Stone Rolling. Someone please ask me about a book review in two weeks or so. I should have something done by then, as long as I don’t become like the rest of my town and shut down because the fair is here. 😉

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Education, Fall Into Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fall Into Reading: My List

  1. April says:

    I have read a tree grows in Brooklyn and it is one of my all time favorite books. Good luck with your list and I hope you make it to read this one !

  2. Katrina says:

    I know how hard it is to try to fit reading in among all those other responsibilities and activities, so I’m glad you’ve taken the time to join the challenge! Enjoy your books!

  3. I just wanted to say that this sounds like a wonderful challenge! You have some truly fantastic books on your list: The Scarlet Letter, Around the World in Eighty Days, and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn are all definitely worth reading. Good luck getting through your list!

  4. I read bout that one year off somewhere else on the Challenge, too. I need to put it on my list–my Winter list.

  5. jaimeanne says:

    Thanks ladies for your encouragement!

    Jennifer–I found the One Year Off book on a few other lists, which is how I heard about it. I’ll let you know how it is, once I’ve gotten through it. It’s being shipped to me as we speak.

  6. Peggy says:

    I just finished A tree grows in Brooklyn and LOVE it. it is my new favorite. I thought it would take a while to get through it but once I started reading I couldn’t put it down. I just picked up a copy of the book Angela’s Ashes and I’m thinking it may be similar (story of poor, Irish Catholic’s trying to make it in America).

  7. I recently read Tree and it’s a great book. If you grew up with a love for reading, you will especially like it.

  8. Pingback: Let the Challenge Begin! — Callapidder Days

Leave a Reply

