She Said “Mama!”

Jaime just called me to announce that in the midst of a slew of babble, Ava said “Mama.” Doh! there go all my efforts to indoctrinate Ava to say “Dada” first. 😛

I’m happy for Jaime, as she’s felt like she hasn’t gotten many cool things out of this baby to this point. She carried the baby. She threw up all the time, felt sick all the time. She delivered the baby without an epidural. She breastfeeds Ava, which is no walk in the park. Meanwhile, Ava looks like a mini-daddy, etc. So now she gets something first, her daughter saying that revered name, “Mama.”

Jaime and Ava
(Ava and her Mama on Labor Day at Knoebels)

Ava
(Ava this evening playing with the hangers)

About Daniel

Life is grand. This is the story of a new family, a recently married couple and their honeymoon baby girl. Life throws at you some fastballs, and then some curveballs.
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Family History, Life, Moms. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to She Said “Mama!”

  1. Laurie says:

    WOW!! What a wonderful milestone!! I jump out of my skin just to hear Micah coo… but this truly is huge!

    And look how gorgeous she is! I thought she was absolutely stunning at birth, but she somehow manages to be prettier and prettier everyday!

    Hooray for Mommy and Daddy!

  2. Jaime's Mom says:

    How neat it is that Ava is already vocalizing!

  3. Jaime's Mom says:

    Sorry, my Voicebar forgot what it was doing. She has been practicing her sounds for months, I would say it atests to her keen mind and determination. Way to go Ava!

  4. Silvia says:

    She’s so beautiful. I can’t believe how fast she’s growing. I can’t wait to see her in person. Maybe she can say my name… yeah right. That might take a few years. Oh well. Congrats Ava and Jaime. You too, Dan. She looks a lot like you.
    Love you guys.

  5. redhatmandan says:

    Yeah, I’m excited for you and Mamica to see her. It’s unfortunate that we live so far apart these days. She is adorable and such a joy to have around.

  6. Joleen says:

    “Mama” thats wonderful. And a very helpful word to know. I use it all the time 🙂

    your little one is just precious, congrats!

  7. redhatmandan says:

    She said “Mama” again just today to me. It is so adorable when your children begin talking. Of course, when they turn 13 and keep talking and talking and talking, I’m sure that’s not going to be so adorable. 😛

Leave a Reply

