Kids not so active in PE

No kidding! I could have told you this in 1994. My gym teacher required us to either:

1) walk around the gym

2) play badminton or

3) play a leisurely game of kickball or basketball

Wow. I’m so glad that I was late for field hockey and soccer practice for gym class. I knew my athletic teams were much more rigorous than gym, but the question is why isn’t gym more like an athletic team?
I’d love to see my gym teacher last through one field hockey practice. The two-a-days in August would have killed him, and the “day of the duck” when we practice bending while running for 2+ hours would have put him in the OR for knee replacement surgery.

And why are athletes required to go to such a substandard class simply for credit? The system needs change, increasing the standards for gym, and exempting athletes while they are on a practicing school team.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kids not so active in PE

  1. redhatmandan says:

    wow…..

    we played football in the winter, soccer in the spring, swimming in late spring, tennis, volleyball, running, etc. Wow, what has changed, man!

  2. Laurie says:

    Argh!! This frustrates me to no end! Same with losing the music programs!

    I had read in Parenting Magazine that many schools only do PE maybe once a month, and when they do, there’s too much standing around, waiting for your turn!

    I’m with ya, Jaime. 100%

Leave a Reply

