The Keys to the Priesthood….but not the Keys to the Building

I left for the church building bright and early, at 7:00 am for the Bishopric meeting at 7:30. The usual Susquehanna River fog hadn’t yet cleared, creating a quiet, still environment, (yeah, I know, I’ve gotta get back to writing if “still and quiet” are the best words I can think of to describe the scene this morning, but I’m working on it). Anyways, I arrived a little bit early but, as I got out of my car, I realized that Jaime still had my keys to the building (she hadn’t been given keys yet for her position as Relief Society President). I figured I would just wait a few minutes in my car. Matt was usually early, earlier than I normally arrive, and he would have the keys.

I sat in the car and took in the view of this one tree next to the church building, beautifully lit by a parking lot light in the fog. I used to be able to describe how I feel when I see something beautiful, but simple. To be short, it was a nice quiet moment. Matt soon arrived and I walked to his car. His back was going out and I mentioned to him ways to loosen his back. I then asked if he had his keys, as I forgot mine at home. He stopped and had a “doh!” moment. He too had forgotten his keys at home, though he realized this about halfway to the church and considered going back to get them. He assumed though that at least one of the rest of us four in the Bishopric had brought their keys. So we stood outside the church waiting for the Bishop and Steve to show up. Meanwhile we noted that a stop sign in the parking lot was placed behind a tree (perhaps when they first put the stop sign up, the tree was just a sapling, and they didn’t realize the tree would soon outgrow the stop sign), and was no longer visible.

The Bishop soon rolled in. He got out and walked to us. We asked him if he had his keys. He laughed and said no. He had given the keys to his son to do something at his work, and forgot to get them back. Three down, one to go. We waited around for Steve, who normally comes in right at 7:30 or a little later. By the time 7:45 rolled around, we didn’t think he would show up, and we were right. He had to work the night shift that night, so he was asleep as we needed the keys.

So there we were, the entire Bishopric with none of us having keys to open the building!

We didn’t worry though. Jaime was to come at 8:15 am for a meeting anyways, as also the Ward Mission Leader, and the High Priest Group Leader who both had keys also to the church. So we had our Bishopric meeting outside the church doors this morning, probably something not usually done anywhere else, except in the boondocks of Pennsylvania where the church building is surrounded by corn fields galore.

So what lesson can we learn from this? Bishops have the keys to the priesthood but sometimes forget the keys to the building? I was thinking about giving an analogy of the importance of they keys to the priesthood for performing ordinances, how like the keys to the building, you can’t function without them, but I think I’ll just leave it at this: fate converged on all three of us forgetting our keys on the same day, and we’re embarrased. 😛

About Daniel

Life is grand. This is the story of a new family, a recently married couple and their honeymoon baby girl. Life throws at you some fastballs, and then some curveballs.
This entry was posted in Church, Gospel Principles, Life, Mormon, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

