Works For Me Wednesday- Scripture Chain

Shannon over at Rocks in my Dryer has a regular Works For Me Wednesday (WFMW). This is my first post. Hopefully I’ll be able to make this a regular part of our blog.

I’m no scriptorian, but I’ve wanted to increase my knowledge of the scriptures for a while now. I know the stories of the scriptures, but I want to be able to quickly cite/find scriptures for the situations I am in. For some reason when I read the scriptures straight through it doesn’t “stick.” Dan and I have started studying topics, and creating scripture chains. It’s made all of the difference in my study. I feel like I am learning more and getting a better grasp on where things are in the scriptures.

Here’s a scripture chain from our study on Monday on Charity.

1. Luke 10:25-38 Parable of the Good Samaritan (for a history of Samaria, see John 4:9 and 2 Kings 17)

2. 1 Corinthians 13

3. Moroni 7:45-48 I knew Moroni said these words, but I didn’t realize just how similar they were to Paul’s words in Corinthians.

4. John 15: 12-13

5. Ether 12: 4-11

6. Matthew 25: 31-34

By doing this, I learned exponentially more than I had been on my own. Our discussion brought us closer together. We also included quotes from the modern-day prophets, but I’ll have to look around to find the printout he prepared for the lesson. It works for us. Hopefully it will work for someone else too.

Check out the other ideas at Rocks In My Dryer WFMW.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Church, Doctrine, Gospel, Gospel Principles, Mormon, Religion, Works For Me Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Works For Me Wednesday- Scripture Chain

  1. Lisa S. says:

    I do this by actually writing in my bible for specific apologetic subjects. For example, the Divinity of Christ – I’ll write the 1st verse on the flyleaf, then the next verse in the ‘argument’ next to that verse, then you go to verse 2, verse 3 is written in the margin… you can go through the whole argument easily and if you get pulled off track, it’s easy to go back to the original thought and continue laying out a well thought out, Scriptural, logical case. This has helped many times when miscellaneous “evangelists” show up at the door, during Bible studies when someone asks a question, etc.

  2. redhatmandan says:

    Jaime,

    I’m glad this is working very well for you. We’ll definitely continue this. It forces us to actually study the scriptures rather than just read them.

    Sorry though that we didn’t get to it this morning. Ava didn’t want to sleep, so I stayed up with her in the morning until she finally got tired and then I needed to catch up on my sleep to. So sorry. 😦

  3. jaimeanne says:

    Lisa– That’s a great idea! Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

    Dan–I like what we are doing. We’ll do it tonight when we both get home. There was no way either of us was rested enough to try to do it this morning. It’s ok– it’s all apart of being a family, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

