Raging Debate

EverydayMommy, one of the Christian women’s blogs that I read daily, has quite the flaming debate going on. She posted this link, and it sparked all sorts of debate.

It’s made me think just how little we truly know. Surely we know about the true Gospel of Christ, and we learn about charity, but are we really putting charity into our lives? If we are, I would say that we aren’t judging people for their choices, but rather agreeing or disagreeing with the action itself. It’s the whole love the person, hate the action.

The biggest thing that sticks in my mind is that the Lord has asked us to follow Him, through baptism and receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost. Through Joseph Smith and subsequent prophets, we learn that we are to be endowed in His temple and sealed to our family for time and all eternity. This aspect is missing. The other churches do not have the power and authority to act in God’s name, hence they can’t perform these ordinances that are necessary.

Now this begs the question, will God harshly judge those who did not receive these in this life? I think it depends on our circumstances. If we heard the true Gospel and shunned it because we didn’t want to follow all of the commandments, possibly. But if we never heard it, how can that count against us? It wouldn’t be just, and Heavenly Father is a fair and just man.

Just my thoughts– what do you think?

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

