How did I come to Christ?

EverydayMommy created a straw poll. Her question was:

What one instrument did the Lord use to influence you toward salvation? How did you come to submitting your life to the Lord Jesus Christ?

I’ve been thinking about this very topic quite a bit lately, especially as I have begun to cherish my relationship with Christ more since Ava was born. I don’t think there is just 1 instrument but rather a collection of experiences that have led me to Christ. I was initially brought to Christ through the teaching and guidance of parents who busted their buns to do their best. They weren’t perfect, but they definitely tried to give me the best education– spiritual and secular– as possible. My testimony was further solidified through scripture reading, service, prayer, regular church and temple attendance and good old adversity.

It wasn’t until I was in college at BYU that I can say I really felt like I had my own testimony of Christ. Maybe I had one much earlier in life, but the happenings of high school took me further from Christ than my little testimony could handle. Yet while I was in Utah, I had 30,000 people around me that all believed the same things I did. Many of them had rock solid testimonies, and I was able to learn and grow from their examples.

There was one instance that sticks out in my mind as a pivotal point in my spiritual development. A sister was teaching a lesson in Relief Society about the atonement. She chose to sing the song, “His Hands.” I had heard this song numerous times, but this time I closed my eyes and imagined the words she was singing. I could see Christ’s actions as if it was a color movie burned into my memory. At that moment, I knew it happened. I knew that He was there, that He lived on earth, and He made it possible for us to return to Him.

While I was in Utah, I had the opportunity to serve amongst my ward (similar to a parish), and that brought me closer to Christ in a new way as I knew that I was working to bring forth Zion. Living in NYC, I continued this, and my testimony grew stronger. After being sealed in the temple for time and all eternity, I can more fully understand God’s purposes and how this life fits into His grand plan. I can see His hand in my life. I know that when trials are seemingly unbearable, I’m not alone– in fact most of the time I’m being carried by Him. I am incredibly thankful for that as those trials and struggles have further solidified what I know and given me a stronger testimony.

Could I have done this without the Bible, Book of Mormon, Doctrine & Covenants or regular church and temple attendance? Probably not. All of these things combined with prayer and service have helped me to come closer to Christ. Being involved in a community of like believers has also greatly strengthened me and helped me along that path. The programs of visiting and home teaching help me to come closer to Christ as that is how He watches over His flock. There is a power in going to visit a sister, and sharing the beauty of the Gospel with her. There is an equal power in having 2 priesthood holders come into my home and share the Gospel with me.

I don’t think there is just one instrument– at least in my experience, but rather a collection of experiences that bring me closer to Christ.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Church, Life, Mormon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How did I come to Christ?

  1. Pingback: Bloggy Tour of Testimonies « The Life and Times of Daniel, Jaime, and Ava Simone

Leave a Reply

