Living in Iraq

This is the first time I’ve ever blogged.  I have to be careful of what I say, so I will be vague.  Thanks to Dan and Jaime for allowing me on this site to write my own words. 

 I am currently sitting in my office in a dark theater, as the power went out again.  It’s over 130 degrees outside and the generators can’t take it all the time.  The theater is where I work most of the time.  I guess I am considered the theater manager.  I create the activities that we run here, programs, movies, etc.  I love my job, working with the soldiers.  It is very rewarding, especially when I can have them doing things they love and forget about where they are for some moments. 

I began the Actor’s Guild out here.  We’ve done plays and now our current project is creating our own version of “Saturday Night Live.”  We actually finished our first production at the end of July.  It went so well, we videotaped the entire show and are planning on sending a copy of the tape to SNL themselves.  I’m curious how they’ll respond to these soldiers here acting and entertaining their fellow soldiers.  I made a T-shirt for all the Actor’s Guild members that state, entertainment for the troops, by the troops.  They are so awesome.  I love working with the soldiers. 

I’m preparing for a talent show in about a week.  I’ve decided to play “Meditation” from Thais as a violin solo.  This is the piece Dan gave me and since then, I’ve practiced and managed to play it pretty well.  We’ll see what the audience thinks.  After that, we have another night of SNL followed the next day by our Fashion Show.  I’m very busy trying to plan and arrange all these events. 

I’ve been here now 10 months and plan on staying longer.  The only bad part about this job is saying good-bye.  The soldiers come and go.  I’ve already had to part with so many good people.  I’m amazed how many wonderful people I meet here.  I’m lucky to have this job surrounded by these great people.  I have one of the best jobs! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Living in Iraq

  1. redhatmandan says:

    Thanks for posting this Silvia. I’m glad to hear things are going well over there for you. Please let us know when SNL gets back to you about your show!

  2. jaimeanne says:

    Definitely! If SNL tells you they’ll be showing it on air, please let us know! We’ll certainly stay up to watch it!

    Thanks for giving us an insight into life on the other side of the world.

  3. Pingback: Our Car Would Not Start « The Life and Times of Daniel, Jaime, and Ava Simone

Leave a Reply

