Thursday’s 13: 13 things I miss about NYC

13. Central Park. Bethesda Fountain, the Chess boards, the Carosel. I used to love to blade the loop after a hard day’s work.

Belvedere Castle

12. The temple! We just got it not too long ago, and now I’m back to being 4+ hours away from one. 😦

Manhattan Temple
11. Brighton Beach, Roosevelt Island, Coney Island and the Rockaways— or basically ways of feeling like you left the city, without really ever leaving the 5 boros.

Brighton Beach
10. Having a kitchen that is 5 feet long and 2 feet wide with less than 2″ of countertop space. The Betty Crocker size oven that had to be lit everytime I used it was priceless.

JessandJaime9. My teacher friends. Definitely the most eclectic group of people ever, but oh was it great to associate with them.

JaimeNYCFellows8. DT-UT, Cupcake Cafe, Magnolia Bakery and other fine dessert lounges.

DT-UT
7. Leaving the city. Any NYer knows that it’s a talent to know when to stay, and when to hop in a car and escape!

6. Veselka–oh how I love a good Ukrainian/Polish soul food 24 hour diner. Yummy!

Veselka
5. Funky little shops with the most random things.

Smile4. Art in the middle of the streets, on the sidewalks, and any other available space.

Jaimeandfriends3. My students! They are definitely the best.

Jaime184

2. Penang! I sooooooo miss the Pineapple Chicken lunch special. How can you go wrong with a little bit of heaven for a mere $7, complete with appetizer, salad, sticky rice and entree?

Pineapple Chicken
1. My darling friends! Where else can you have friends that are fashion editors, filmmakers, Martha test kitchen chefs, ghetto teachers, stay-at-home moms, and comediennes? They are some of the best people I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Friends, Life, NYC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

